Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Notices

Advertise Here

Old 08-26-2019, 11:10 AM
Hiker

Default home made hand soap and laundry soap.

Advertise Here

I made hand soap today, foaming hand soap. This is my first time, so I bought castile soap. next time I will make it. The recipe is quite simple. 12 oz water, 2 tablespoons castile soap, 1/2 tablebpoon olive oil and your choice of essential oils. Obviously the essential oils would be pointless in a SHTF scenario, as they would attract attention. Very simple, and easy to use.

Laundry soap is simple as well. 1 Box Borax, 3 bars Fels Nepia, 2 boxes of oxiclean (dollar store band,) 1 box washing soda, 2 cups baking soda and 2 bottles fabric softener crystals. In total, this cost me about $28, and that is because we went with a name brand fabric softener crystal because my wife preferred the scent.

So, with this, you can grate, or as I did, put the Fels Nepia bars in the blender for like 10 seconds a bar. Other than that, throw everything in a trash bag, roll it, and properly mix. This took, at most, 10 minutes from start to finish. The “hardest part” was opening all the containers. This laundry soap works well, smells great, and last forever. Right now, we are storing it in a glass jar from walmart in our moist basement. it gets a little hard on top, but we use it often enough that it does not turn to a rock.

This is just some things to think of. You can make a lot of soaps for just a little cash. This way you can keep a supply on hand.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to CPLSeraphim For This Useful Post:
Old 08-26-2019, 09:20 PM
Hiker

Does your laundry soap work good as Tide?
Old 08-27-2019, 06:47 AM
French Prometheus unbound

Thanked 65,446 Times in 20,108 Posts

How much detergent does it make? What cost does it avoid? Does it pay?