Windows 10 Ameliorated - Page 3 - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files


Notices

The Tech Zone Discussion on computers, software and games.

Advertise Here
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2020, 05:52 AM
Dragunov's Avatar
Dragunov Dragunov is offline
TEXAS!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Great Republic of Texas!
Posts: 7,255
Thanks: 10,774
Thanked 11,436 Times in 4,401 Posts
Default



Advertise Here

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralfy View Post
Lack of security updates for Win XP, 7, and 8.1. Win 10 has internals fixed and is still maintained.

To make it look like Win 7, just install Open Shell.
Win10 is far more vulnerable to attacks than Win7Pro, for the reasons I stated earlier. Win7Pro is more stable, and will run better, longer than Win10. As I said before, Win7, doesn't necessarily need any more updates. Mine hasn't been updated for the last two years.... Guess what. No issues.
I've had to remove Ransomware, over a dozen times this year, so far, from customers machines. Guess the O/S? Win10. ZERO for Win8.1Pro, or Win7.

Win7 is easier to install, quicker to install, and in 85% or so of ways, just as fast as Win10, if not faster. You don't have to "fiddle" with Win7, to get it running trouble free, fast, and reliably. Telemetry is VERY easy to remove, and AVAST! AV, Ccleaner, and MalwareBytes, are all that's required to keep it running top notch. This is NOT "doable" for Win10.

If you want to use something like "Classic Shell", you might as well just use it with Windows 8.1. Windows 8.1, with just a LITTLE work, will run rings around Win10, is more compatible with older software, is lighter, and far less trouble. Win8.1 is also FAR more SSD friendly, than Win10.
Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2020, 06:00 AM
Dragunov's Avatar
Dragunov Dragunov is offline
TEXAS!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Great Republic of Texas!
Posts: 7,255
Thanks: 10,774
Thanked 11,436 Times in 4,401 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devron View Post
Ditto. The only reason I updated from XP was I only had a 32bit version and wanted to make use of all my installed RAM. Not on issue at all with W7Pro 64.
I actually have a legal copy of XP/64bit. I have had compatibility issues with it, and don't use it much.
Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Survivalist Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Gender
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © Kevin Felts 2006 - 2015,
Green theme by http://www.themesbydesign.net