New iPad, Slow Internet - Page 4 - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files


Notices

The Tech Zone Discussion on computers, software and games.

Advertise Here
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2019, 03:46 PM
fistfulladirt fistfulladirt is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,234
Thanks: 2,713
Thanked 2,178 Times in 1,125 Posts
Default



Advertise Here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justme11 View Post
Maybe cancel your internet and make a deal with your neighbor to use his WiFi with a range extender?

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Exten...SIN=B0195Y0A42
Best response ever.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to fistfulladirt For This Useful Post:
Old 11-17-2019, 04:04 PM
KLF KLF is online now
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 85
Thanked 1,248 Times in 660 Posts
Default

I'd consider hardline between houses. A cat6 or cat5e in a garden hose from their router to your router. If that is out of the question, then use wifi bridge, not range extenders.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KLF For This Useful Post:
Old 11-17-2019, 05:31 PM
fistfulladirt fistfulladirt is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,234
Thanks: 2,713
Thanked 2,178 Times in 1,125 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KLF View Post
I'd consider hardline between houses. A cat6 or cat5e in a garden hose from their router to your router. If that is out of the question, then use wifi bridge, not range extenders.
Crude but would work. As long as you neighbor lives next door. Not so if they’re a quarter mile away or more. That’s a lot of wire.
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2019, 05:51 PM
KLF KLF is online now
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 85
Thanked 1,248 Times in 660 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fistfulladirt View Post
Crude but would work. As long as you neighbor lives next door. Not so if theyíre a quarter mile away or more. Thatís a lot of wire.
Well, as he said the neighbors WiFi works in his garage. So it should not be that far away after all. A single ethernet cable should be max 100 metres. That's why I'm guessing it would be doable.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2019, 11:02 AM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,925
Thanks: 11,399
Thanked 29,014 Times in 7,581 Posts
Default

Woohoo, got the new router installed and everything is lightning fast. All is good! Guess the old router WiFi was on its last gasp, but I still can’t explain why the old devices were working as well as they were.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Pitbull_Dallas For This Useful Post:
Old 11-22-2019, 11:36 AM
puttster's Avatar
puttster puttster is offline
Golfer
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,294
Thanks: 1,691
Thanked 2,393 Times in 1,361 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KLF View Post
I'd consider hardline between houses. A cat6 or cat5e in a garden hose from their router to your router.
How would you get the cable through a 50 ft garden hose?
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2019, 03:15 PM
KLF KLF is online now
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 85
Thanked 1,248 Times in 660 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puttster View Post
How would you get the cable through a 50 ft garden hose?
with dedication, some luck, soap or other lubricant...

I'd probably tie a string to a cork or something that fits in the hose. Then I'd straighten the hose as best as I could and position it downhill. Then insert cork/plug and feed string while blasting air with a compressor until it emerges from the other end. If that wouldn't work, then I'd use water and let it dry for a while afterwards.

Next grease the cable with soap or whatever you have, tie it to the string and pull it back thru the hose.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2019, 06:09 PM
LibShooter LibShooter is online now
M.R. Ducks
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: East TN
Posts: 16,924
Thanks: 6,353
Thanked 22,275 Times in 9,904 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KLF View Post
with dedication, some luck, soap or other lubricant...
Good advice for so many things.
You could also try some direct burial cable.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078HN6JNX..._hPg2DbS69AQS1
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to LibShooter For This Useful Post:
Old 11-22-2019, 07:41 PM
Justme11's Avatar
Justme11 Justme11 is online now
French Prometheus unbound
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 28,211
Thanks: 31,242
Thanked 67,770 Times in 20,716 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puttster View Post
How would you get the cable through a 50 ft garden hose?
Fish tape.

it is spring steel that comes in a 50 or 100 ft roll. I have a roll for fishing wires around the house and also used it to fish wires up the sailboat mast. (masthead light and VHF antenna.

I also have a set of fish sticks that screw together.

https://www.amazon.com/RamPro-Spring...SIN=B01MXIOGF7
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Justme11 For This Useful Post:
Old 11-22-2019, 10:23 PM
dmas dmas is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,697
Thanks: 1,281
Thanked 3,925 Times in 2,180 Posts
Default

Instead of a plug make a parachute/ air catcher out of plastic wrap, you don't need much too much will plug hose, tie on to fishline and vacuum thru. Then pull wire with fishing line.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2019, 10:27 PM
dmas dmas is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,697
Thanks: 1,281
Thanked 3,925 Times in 2,180 Posts
Default

Some tablets like kindle and ipad have dual band wifi. That may be why new router works better.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to dmas For This Useful Post:
Old 11-23-2019, 10:20 AM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,925
Thanks: 11,399
Thanked 29,014 Times in 7,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmas View Post
Some tablets like kindle and ipad have dual band wifi. That may be why new router works better.
The new router/modem has duel band; 2.4 and 5g. Iím connected to 2.4 on the iPad and my streaming TV is connected to 5g. 2.4 moves more data, while 5g is faster for streaming.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2019, 11:47 AM
Justme11's Avatar
Justme11 Justme11 is online now
French Prometheus unbound
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 28,211
Thanks: 31,242
Thanked 67,770 Times in 20,716 Posts
Default

Like Dueling Band joes?

That never works out well .. in the end.

Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2019, 04:45 PM
fistfulladirt fistfulladirt is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,234
Thanks: 2,713
Thanked 2,178 Times in 1,125 Posts
Default

Transmits up or down, not both at the same time. Keep in mind if you have multi users.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2019, 12:46 PM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,925
Thanks: 11,399
Thanked 29,014 Times in 7,581 Posts
Default

By the way, if you want to run a quick and easy internet speed test, Netflix has one. I checked it against others and itís equally accurate. I saved it to my home screen so I can check it periodically and it does vary..

https://fast.com/
Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Survivalist Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Gender
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © Kevin Felts 2006 - 2015,
Green theme by http://www.themesbydesign.net