New iPad, Slow Internet - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files


Notices

The Tech Zone Discussion on computers, software and games.

Advertise Here
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2019, 05:55 PM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,932
Thanks: 11,409
Thanked 29,030 Times in 7,586 Posts
Default New iPad, Slow Internet



Advertise Here

Just bought a new iPad because little is working on my old ipad1. Been setting the new one up for a while now. One thing about it is the Internet is a dog. Super slow. My old iPad runs rings around the new one. What can I do to speed the Internet up?? My router is fine, the desktop rips and so does my old iPad, I stream all the time, no problems.

The new iPad is 128GB, 7th generation, OS 13.1. Can someone enlighten me? Can't live with this slow of an Internet..
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2019, 06:01 PM
Justme11's Avatar
Justme11 Justme11 is online now
French Prometheus unbound
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 28,222
Thanks: 31,284
Thanked 67,829 Times in 20,726 Posts
Default

My router has 2 different speed addresses. If yours is the same, it might be connecting to the slow one.

The fast one is labelled 5G.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2019, 06:12 PM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,932
Thanks: 11,409
Thanked 29,030 Times in 7,586 Posts
Default

How do I determine what it is? I think mine is one speed, but it would still be nice to check it..
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2019, 06:19 PM
Justme11's Avatar
Justme11 Justme11 is online now
French Prometheus unbound
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 28,222
Thanks: 31,284
Thanked 67,829 Times in 20,726 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitbull_Dallas View Post
How do I determine what it is? I think mine is one speed, but it would still be nice to check it..
Not sure. I had complained to my internet provider about the slow speeds, and they replaced the old modem with the new one. So I ended up with one with the 2 different channel speeds. They didn't charge for the swapout, because the old modem was not giving me the speed I was paying for.

i think the old slower speed has a little more range. The fast 5G one loses signal when I step outside. The other one worked in the backyard.

The Roku connects to the 5G also. .
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2019, 06:23 PM
ajole ajole is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,862
Thanks: 7,815
Thanked 22,416 Times in 7,082 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justme11 View Post
My router has 2 different speed addresses. If yours is the same, it might be connecting to the slow one.

The fast one is labelled 5G.
My fast one is the one NOT labeled 5G...go figure.
I know, it's supposed to be the 5G, and I've worked with all sorts of configurations and settings...but nothing doing.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitbull_Dallas View Post
How do I determine what it is? I think mine is one speed, but it would still be nice to check it..
They should be both showing up when you look for a network, and one "should" be labeled or named with a 5G in the name, if your provider did things right.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2019, 06:27 PM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,932
Thanks: 11,409
Thanked 29,030 Times in 7,586 Posts
Default

Well, only one is showing up..
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2019, 06:27 PM
Justme11's Avatar
Justme11 Justme11 is online now
French Prometheus unbound
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 28,222
Thanks: 31,284
Thanked 67,829 Times in 20,726 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajole View Post
My fast one is the one NOT labeled 5G...go figure.
I know, it's supposed to be the 5G, and I've worked with all sorts of configurations and settings...but nothing doing.




They should be both showing up when you look for a network, and one "should" be labeled or named with a 5G in the name, if your provider did things right.
Maybe your installer got the labels backwards? Pretty easy to see the speed difference.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Justme11 For This Useful Post:
Old 11-13-2019, 06:28 PM
Justme11's Avatar
Justme11 Justme11 is online now
French Prometheus unbound
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 28,222
Thanks: 31,284
Thanked 67,829 Times in 20,726 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitbull_Dallas View Post
Well, only one is showing up..
Run speedtest and if it says you are getting less than the speed you are paying for, a quick phone call should get them to provide you the faster router.

The difference was pretty impressive.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Justme11 For This Useful Post:
Old 11-13-2019, 06:28 PM
ajole ajole is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,862
Thanks: 7,815
Thanked 22,416 Times in 7,082 Posts
Default

Some ideas from https://www.imobie.com/iphone-tips/s...hone-ipad.htm:

"You might have opened too many apps and games on your iOS devices. So just double click Home button and slide to shut down the apps/games you are not using to free up memory on your iPhone or iPad."

______________________________________________
"Do you remember the last time you organized your Safari history and bookmarks? Actually, we almost never organize our Safari info and clean browsing junks. That’s partly why our iOS 13 goes slow when we surf online by using Safari.

To Organize Bookmarks and History
It’s easy to organize your browser bookmarks and history. Just run your Safari app and click Book icon, you will find all of your history and bookmarks there. You can delete any history or bookmark items, or edit your bookmarks.

To Delete All Browsing Data and History
Go to Settings > Choose Safari > Tap on Clear History and Website Data.

To Delete All Browsing Data of One Specific Website
Go to Settings > Choose Safari > Choose Advanced > Tap on Website Data.

__________________________________________________ ________

"Background apps activities are often the culprit slowing down your iOS operating system. Luckily, Apple offers its users the features to turn off background refresh and auto-update to make their iPhone/iPad have a good performance.

Speed up iPhone/iPad – Disable Background Apps Refresh
Speed up iPhone/iPad – Disable Background Apps Refresh

How to turn off background apps refresh
Setting > General > Turn off Background App Refresh.

__________________________________________________
And of course, you can try a hard boot...hold down the power and the home button until it powers down, and then restart things after it has shut off.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to ajole For This Useful Post:
Old 11-13-2019, 06:31 PM
ajole ajole is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,862
Thanks: 7,815
Thanked 22,416 Times in 7,082 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justme11 View Post
Maybe your installer got the labels backwards? Pretty easy to see the speed difference.
Now THAT makes me go, hmmmmmmm....
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to ajole For This Useful Post:
Old 11-13-2019, 06:45 PM
LibShooter LibShooter is offline
M.R. Ducks
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: East TN
Posts: 16,924
Thanks: 6,353
Thanked 22,276 Times in 9,904 Posts
Default

My first thought is that your new iPad is still backing itself up to iCloud. You might try leaving it plugged up and on overnight.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to LibShooter For This Useful Post:
Old 11-13-2019, 07:15 PM
KLF KLF is offline
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,213
Thanks: 85
Thanked 1,250 Times in 662 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justme11 View Post
My router has 2 different speed addresses. If yours is the same, it might be connecting to the slow one.

The fast one is labelled 5G.
My two networks at home are labeled after planets in Star Wars.

Also not to be confused with 5G telephone system, that 5G just means it's 5Ghz and the slower one would be using 2.4Ghz.

My suggestion also as a first step, download speedtest app to see what your connection speed is. Also note what it reports as your ip address. Then run speedtest with your browser and see if the ip is same or different. They should be same and performance should be about same.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2019, 08:00 PM
BigSlick BigSlick is offline
2nd Amendment zealot
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: TN, the patron state of shootin stuff
Posts: 669
Thanks: 2,939
Thanked 1,309 Times in 434 Posts
Default

The 5 Ghz will have more bandwith but the 2.4 will give you a longer range. You should be getting about 1Mb on the 2.4 which should be more than enough for web surfing.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-13-2019, 09:09 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
NyteOwl NyteOwl is offline
Work in progress
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 690
Thanks: 4,166
Thanked 1,122 Times in 535 Posts
Default

You need to go through your apps and make sure they aren’t automatically doing background app refresh or using location finders too, it all eats up bandwidth. Also check the notifications, shut them off if not needed.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2019, 06:01 AM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,932
Thanks: 11,409
Thanked 29,030 Times in 7,586 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
You need to go through your apps and make sure they arenít automatically doing background app refresh or using location finders too, it all eats up bandwidth. Also check the notifications, shut them off if not needed.
I did turn off the background refresh and it made little to no difference. Iíll work on it some more today, but it is irritating. Like I said, my old ipad1 runs circles around it. I will say though, the battery is awesome. I was on it a good chunk of yesterday, left it on all last night and and itís still at 80% charge.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2019, 06:10 AM
charliemeyer007's Avatar
charliemeyer007 charliemeyer007 is online now
reluctant sinner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rent Free in your head
Posts: 14,205
Thanks: 33
Thanked 24,731 Times in 9,025 Posts
Default

https://twit.tv/shows/ios-today

I think there is a way to search the shows for answers to questions.

I'm not an apple fan.
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2019, 06:24 AM
KLF KLF is offline
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,213
Thanks: 85
Thanked 1,250 Times in 662 Posts
Default

Can you test it with another network, either share internet from your phone or use someone else's network (friend or public). If it still is slow, then problem is with the tablet itself. If it is fast elsewhere, then issue could be how the tablet negotiates with your home wifi.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to KLF For This Useful Post:
Old 11-14-2019, 07:23 AM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,932
Thanks: 11,409
Thanked 29,030 Times in 7,586 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KLF View Post
Can you test it with another network, either share internet from your phone or use someone else's network (friend or public). If it still is slow, then problem is with the tablet itself. If it is fast elsewhere, then issue could be how the tablet negotiates with your home wifi.
Good idea. I can walk next door and get on the neighbors WiFi. They also have a completely different service than me, so it eliminates att all together.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Pitbull_Dallas For This Useful Post:
Old 11-14-2019, 07:26 AM
Justme11's Avatar
Justme11 Justme11 is online now
French Prometheus unbound
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 28,222
Thanks: 31,284
Thanked 67,829 Times in 20,726 Posts
Default

I assume you tried rebooting it?
Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2019, 07:35 AM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,932
Thanks: 11,409
Thanked 29,030 Times in 7,586 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justme11 View Post
I assume you tried rebooting it?
Yep, did it twice. Right after it seems to be a little faster, but not for long (subjective). Maybe itís just wishful thinking..
Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Survivalist Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Gender
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © Kevin Felts 2006 - 2015,
Green theme by http://www.themesbydesign.net