What do you recommend for a beginner's .22 or .32 revolver? - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Notices

Advertise Here

Old 08-13-2019, 01:20 PM

Default What do you recommend for a beginner's .22 or .32 revolver?

Advertise Here

Hi,
I'm new to handguns and have never owned one before. I'm currently thinking of getting either a concealed carry size .22 (probably a rimfire, although a centerfire isn't out of the question) revolver and/or a standard-regular sized .22 revolver, with an outside chance of getting a .32 revolver in the same size class's as the .22 (a .22 almost certainly though ). What do you recommend for a beginner to look at (makes, models and so forth) and safety features good for a beginner to have?
Also, should I just skip the .32 and go straight for the .22 since I'm a beginner and ought to learn how to shoot with it first?
By the way, how uncommon is it to find .32 revolver ammo these days and how expensive is it compared to .22 ammo? I haven't been in the loop of ammo shopping so I don't know. Just curious...

Thank you
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2019, 02:01 PM
Target Shooter

River Wrangler. Cheap accurate good revolver for plinking. I keep one in my SxS.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 08-13-2019, 02:17 PM
Trapper

.38 hammerless for CWP or EDC if you want light recoil and better damage then a .22. .22s are great plinkers but should not be relied on for protection. .22 ammo are known for misfires and some firearms don't feed them or jam badly with them. Revolvers work around that but still. And with revolvers, a .38 would be my least likely choice but a decent carry. Remember you wouldn't be shooting the CCP non stop and most only do a bit of target practice with it so recoil will become something you can handle and learn.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2019, 03:15 PM