Kill a watt question - Page 2 - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files


Notices

Disaster Preparedness General Discussion Anything Disaster Preparedness or Survival Related

Advertise Here
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2019, 06:49 PM
JimET's Avatar
JimET JimET is offline
Hiker
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Tenneesse
Posts: 724
Thanks: 973
Thanked 775 Times in 391 Posts
Default



Advertise Here

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianWorf View Post
2 notes on the Kill-A-Watt.

1. It will not accurately measure on modified sine wave power from an invertor. It will be accurate on pure sine wave power from an invertor.....
I found this out also. It does not like modified sine wave.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JimET For This Useful Post:
Old 10-22-2019, 02:21 PM
lasers lasers is offline
Hunter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,849
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2,259 Times in 1,095 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimET View Post
I found this out also. It does not like modified sine wave.
Mine appears to work just fine on modified sine wave. But it does show a 30%-40% difference between watts and VA when running a motor on modified sine wave. The PF is also not what it should be either. I don't blame either of those on the the meter, it is working as it should. It is just showing the motor doesn't like the modified sine wave and is wasting a lot of the power that it isn't able to use.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to lasers For This Useful Post:
Old 10-26-2019, 02:32 PM
pengyou pengyou is offline
Hiker
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 623
Thanks: 1,012
Thanked 447 Times in 249 Posts
Default

Surges are a problem with solar energy...there are some appliances (water pumps, fridges, a/c, etc) that have been designed to have minimum or no surge on start-up. If it is a big issue you might want to consider buying a non-surge appliance when the time comes to replace it. I don't understand how they work - or how they can be non-surge. the only other option is to buy more batteries now to accommodate the surge now - you have to do some calculations to see how much money you will pay in the long run and which one is more cost effective.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to pengyou For This Useful Post:
Old 10-26-2019, 08:17 PM
Panchovilla's Avatar
Panchovilla Panchovilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Flyover Country
Posts: 49
Thanks: 38
Thanked 84 Times in 38 Posts
Default

You can also program it to give you the cost of your usage over time. I had mine hooked up to a dehumidifier for a week and saw that it was costing me about $8/month. You can do this with a fridge at different temps, etc.

Last edited by Panchovilla; 10-26-2019 at 08:28 PM.. Reason: Double checked the cost. My bad.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Panchovilla For This Useful Post:
Old 10-27-2019, 08:39 PM
Lagnar's Avatar
Lagnar Lagnar is offline
Retired kafir
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 13,278
Thanks: 24,225
Thanked 47,768 Times in 11,069 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brettny View Post

For the rest get a clamp on amp meter.
Clamp-on amp meters don't work on power cords. You have to isolate the conductors and clamp it on just one of them.
Quick reply to this message
Old 10-27-2019, 10:01 PM
edprof edprof is offline
Prepared
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 335
Thanks: 613
Thanked 461 Times in 198 Posts
Default

I have a Kill A Watt digital meter plus solar panels, a battery bank, Generac whole home generator, and Troy-Bilt 7kW portable generator. I have tested most of the equipment in the house and made a "shopping list" posted on the control panel. This tells me what I can or cannot do at any given minute, based upon how much I am generating.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to edprof For This Useful Post:
Old 10-28-2019, 04:43 AM
cook's Avatar
cook cook is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,025
Thanks: 3,194
Thanked 4,510 Times in 1,732 Posts
Default

edprof-that was the reason I got it.
Remember the show Green acres? They had limited power.Oliver had all the cords labled.Lisa ignored it and always blew the fuses.Hilarity ensued.At least I don't have to climb the telephone pole to make a call.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to cook For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Survivalist Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Gender
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © Kevin Felts 2006 - 2015,
Green theme by http://www.themesbydesign.net