Survivalist Forum banner

Fall / winter 2018 - 2019 prepping plans?

3K views 31 replies 26 participants last post by  edprof 
#1 ·
Guys and gals, fall and winter is just around the corner. So does anyone have any special plans for this season?

I may spend some time on public hunting lands.

My son and I are setting up the deer stands here on the farm.

May plant a winter garden of greens. It has been a long time since I grew turnips and rutabagas.

Talked to a couple of my buddies about going on a river camping trip towards December or January.

So far no plans set in stone, just a bunch of things I would like to do, but nothing overly important.

#3 ·
I’m working on getting a freeze drier and making my own freeze dried hiking meals as well as producing my own LTS fruits, veggies and meats.

#4 ·
I'm a general contractor, and have never had a break to get some work done on my own place.

Finally, we have several projects get delayed and I was able to get my workers out to my homestead to build a 16' x 24' outdoor post & beam structure with deck floor and a roof (metal panels used from a past salvaged job). Its right next to a free standing barn. Both have full power and lighting.

Its got an outdoor work bench, storage for summer & winter tires, spare lumber, ladders, staging, tarps, and other building equipment and spare building materials.

Cleaned out all the gutters and installed news gutters on the barn + the new structure.

For firewood, we have about 5 cords of seasoned fire wood, and I just ordered another 3 cords.

I just rotated out about 200 gallons of stored gas, and will be refilling the containers next week with fresh gas and stabilizer.

I am planning to do a test start and run on our 14k whole house genset next week.

The snow plow has been cleaned up and weatherized for the next coming winter. I did that earlier in the summer.