Survivalist Forum banner

Trail cameras who makes a good one?

5K views 22 replies 15 participants last post by  Brettny 
#1 ·
I currently own an older Moultrie 5mp and one wildgame inovations 12mp. Looking for another 1 or 2. I dont mind buying used off ebay. I dont really need 1080p or anything fancy like that. Who makes a good camera?

Well i can tell you the cheap ones off amazon suck. Left one out over the summer and found the battery springs blew the back appart. The case was so weak it couldnt take the spring pressure. Lost a SD card on that camera too.

#2 ·
I'm not an expert on cameras, cause I have only owned one. In the woods, I have it set on videos, not pictures. I've used it three hunting seasons and get many beautiful game videos. Deer, coyotes, turkey, squirrels, raccoon, and other hunters. :D:
I would buy another just like it if I had excess monies. It's a Browning, Model BTC-1XR. It's one of their cheaper models.

http://btc-omrc.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/2015-Range-Ops-Instruction-Manual.pdf

#3 ·
I'll suggest one - Primos Proof Cam 03 Gen 2. They take good pictures when placed properly, can take video, are the easiest to set up, are black flash and use a smart security system - Python cable goes across the front cover. No other locks needed. I have Bushnell and Moultrie also at various price points and prefer the Primos. Good luck!

#4 ·
I just bought a 2 pack of Moultrie A40i off Amazon for 140. So far so good. I also have a Wildgame Innovations. Marginal at best. Very slow delay so it tends to miss a lot. The Moultrie is very quick and has multiple settings for pictures. Stick with the Moultrie.

#5 ·
Thanks for the info. I do have both these cameras set on video due to just that...many pictures with nothing in them. I cought more game when in video so kept them like that. I get alot of night shots around here.