First Rifle? - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Notices

Firearms General Discussion Rifles, pistols, shotguns, scopes, grips and everything in between.

Advertise Here

Old 11-04-2019, 09:32 AM

Default First Rifle?

Advertise Here

As some of you know, I started studying with a firearms instructor and bought my first hand gun.
He has had me shooting this air soft gun rifle contraption. I call it a contraption just for fun.
It is my understanding that a lot of this is about muscle memory and learning and training body positions. I end up at the end of it just sweaty and quivering like hot yoga (my lib-ness coming through hahaha).

From what I have gathered in discussion with the instructor is that hand guns are sort of binary, meaning a hand gun is a hand gun, know the basics, learn the safety and techniques, and the machine is handleable.

Rifles appear to be completely different. From a BB gun to that scary sniper thing in the Accountant, there is a LOT of things to learn. Rifles appear to have all sorts of variables whether it be the physical properties of the rifle, to how it handles ammo, to all sorts of things.

I assume he has a planned transition for me to one of his rifles, but I was wondering what you all thought of as a good first rifle.

I am looking at it like this, what would you guy a 14 year old with a little more muscle mass and facial hair, but the same amount of weapons intelligence.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to citizendino For This Useful Post:
Old 11-04-2019, 09:40 AM
Gatorbait

Henry .22 lever action.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Arch Stanton For This Useful Post:
Old 11-04-2019, 09:41 AM
Survivor

Thanked 44,781 Times in 5,522 Posts