Is it common that computers are hijacked to run data? - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files


Notices

The Tech Zone Discussion on computers, software and games.

Advertise Here
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2019, 09:17 AM
slackercruster's Avatar
slackercruster slackercruster is offline
Hunter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Born in L.A. - NYC is 2nd home - Rustbelt is home base
Posts: 1,073
Thanks: 1,573
Thanked 2,057 Times in 641 Posts
Default Is it common that computers are hijacked to run data?



Advertise Here

When I put my computer asleep I've found it to awaken numerous times and running really hot. (processing lots of data.) It is not doing a MS update either. I remember way back when computer users were asked if they wanted to join a group where their computers would crunch data while idle. I never signed up for it and don't want to be a part of it now, if it still exists. I've started to log off the internet when I put the computer asleep and have had no further problems awakening. Is this even a issue nowadays with all the hi-powered computers? Are computers ever hijacked in off hours to run someone's data?
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2019, 09:22 AM
Byte Byte is offline
Get bent
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 339
Thanks: 399
Thanked 468 Times in 216 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slackercruster View Post
When I put my computer asleep I've found it to awaken numerous times and running really hot. (processing lots of data.) It is not doing a MS update either. I remember way back when computer users were asked if they wanted to join a group where their computers would crunch data while idle. I never signed up for it and don't want to be a part of it now, if it still exists. I've started to log off the internet when I put the computer asleep and have had no further problems awakening. Is this even a issue nowadays with all the hi-powered computers? Are computers ever hijacked in off hours to run someone's data?
The term you'll want to research is botnet.

http://usa.kaspersky.com/resource-ce...botnet-attacks

It's a deep rabbit hole so make some time. If you're into tech in any way, you might be reading for awhile!

One of mine has been waking from sleep quite regularly lately as well. It's a usb driver that wakes mine and is known to be a common issue.

Here's a small tutorial to start with.

https://lifehacker.com/how-find-out-...ast-1550549116
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2019, 09:39 AM
America's Patriot's Avatar
America's Patriot America's Patriot is offline
LEGAL citizen
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,069
Thanks: 2,946
Thanked 29,796 Times in 9,806 Posts
Default

HAHA... almost forgot about SETI. Thanks for the walk down memory lane...
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2019, 07:10 PM
KLF KLF is online now
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 82
Thanked 1,158 Times in 613 Posts
Default

Good old botnets (to do bad things to others) are not the big thing anymore, I think I saw somewhere mentioned that the new hot is using networked computers to do cryptocurrency calclulations.
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2019, 07:36 PM
Justme11's Avatar
Justme11 Justme11 is offline
French Prometheus unbound
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 26,898
Thanks: 29,501
Thanked 64,003 Times in 19,697 Posts
Default

You can find lots of discusion and various utility downloads at MajorGeeks.
https://www.majorgeeks.com/


I bought 2 used Laptops recently and they were pretty loaded with spyware. Downloaded Malware bytes free edition and it cleaned most of the junk that was slowing them down.
https://www.malwarebytes.com/mwb-download/


Then downloaded bleachbit and did some pretty aggressive cleanup scans.
https://www.bleachbit.org/


Installed Norton Antivirus, which was a great deal last black Friday for like $30 total for several licenses.

Downloaded Hijackthis exe and did a scan to see if any other DLL so called "Helper objects" were out there. (You need to know what you are doing with this one, so maybe don't try it unless you have someone looking over your shoulder, which I think one of the geeks will do at majorgeeks.

Then I ran all the updates. Then went to HP and got the latest drivers for the WIFI and the Sound and bluetooth emulators.

They are both HP Elitebooks. Paid $180 for the first one which came with a new battery and $100 for the second one.
The battery was at end of life on the 2nd one, so put a new battery in it.

They both were super clean and now they both run very fast.

Not sure what is running to heat your computer, but probably some combination of adware, and other nasties causing trouble. Nuke em!
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2019, 08:05 PM
Dragunov's Avatar
Dragunov Dragunov is offline
TEXAS!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Great Republic of Texas!
Posts: 7,122
Thanks: 10,668
Thanked 11,202 Times in 4,320 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slackercruster View Post
When I put my computer asleep I've found it to awaken numerous times and running really hot. (processing lots of data.) It is not doing a MS update either. I remember way back when computer users were asked if they wanted to join a group where their computers would crunch data while idle. I never signed up for it and don't want to be a part of it now, if it still exists. I've started to log off the internet when I put the computer asleep and have had no further problems awakening. Is this even a issue nowadays with all the hi-powered computers? Are computers ever hijacked in off hours to run someone's data?
Ummmm..... Unplug your computer at night maybe?!?

Also, remove the battery, if it's a laptop, Maybe?!?

At the minimum, shut off all remote access, and remove it from your Wi-Fi.

They can't be hijacked while they're off, and no power available (common sense folks!).
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2019, 08:14 PM
KLF KLF is online now
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 82
Thanked 1,158 Times in 613 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justme11 View Post
They both were super clean and now they both run very fast.
Wouldn't it be faster (and easier!) to just wipe and reinstall everything from clean media? That's I would do anyways if I receive a computer from "unknown" source.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to KLF For This Useful Post:
Old 08-24-2019, 03:20 PM
Asag's Avatar
Asag Asag is offline
D. Gibbons is a bad man
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,115
Thanks: 1,495
Thanked 3,534 Times in 1,883 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justme11 View Post
You can find lots of discusion and various utility downloads at MajorGeeks.
https://www.majorgeeks.com/


I bought 2 used Laptops recently and they were pretty loaded with spyware. Downloaded Malware bytes free edition and it cleaned most of the junk that was slowing them down.
https://www.malwarebytes.com/mwb-download/


Then downloaded bleachbit and did some pretty aggressive cleanup scans.
https://www.bleachbit.org/


Installed Norton Antivirus, which was a great deal last black Friday for like $30 total for several licenses.

Downloaded Hijackthis exe and did a scan to see if any other DLL so called "Helper objects" were out there. (You need to know what you are doing with this one, so maybe don't try it unless you have someone looking over your shoulder, which I think one of the geeks will do at majorgeeks.

Then I ran all the updates. Then went to HP and got the latest drivers for the WIFI and the Sound and bluetooth emulators.

They are both HP Elitebooks. Paid $180 for the first one which came with a new battery and $100 for the second one.
The battery was at end of life on the 2nd one, so put a new battery in it.

They both were super clean and now they both run very fast.

Not sure what is running to heat your computer, but probably some combination of adware, and other nasties causing trouble. Nuke em!
Clean reinstall is about the only foolproof method as I have seen persistence in professionally wiped laptops. A clean install of PopOS is now my preference for all secondhand laptops.
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2019, 07:28 PM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is offline
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 8,621
Thanks: 2,676
Thanked 17,801 Times in 6,092 Posts
Default

Using an obsolete O/S as I do, I can't reload some app programs from the web, and loading others that I need from the distro CDs is an all-morning task.

Solution: A while ago an SB member clued me in to how to "clone" one drive to another. I have a couple of spare hard drives, and I have three identical Dells, one in regular use, the others as spares. All five drives in my inventory are clones of one another, and if one were to be compromised I simply wipe it clean and reclone it from one of the others.

DATA of course is backed up weekly, and would be reloaded from the backup. So far I have had to do this just once, and it was for a pretty minor issue (lost the NoScript install, and NoScript that will run on Firefox 52 is no longer on the Web.)

I do run McAfee, plus NoScript, AdBlock, and Privacy Badger.

Another thing is that I'm on Hughes satellite. Don't understand the why of it, but I NEVER see the hundred or so port calls and pings per day that plagued me when I was on DSL, ten+ years ago. I don't even run the firewall logs anymore, they're always blank.
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2019, 07:40 PM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is offline
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 8,621
Thanks: 2,676
Thanked 17,801 Times in 6,092 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justme11 View Post
You can find lots of discusion and various utility downloads at MajorGeeks.
https://www.majorgeeks.com/

That's an interesting site!
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to The Old Coach For This Useful Post:
Old 08-25-2019, 07:51 AM
Pitbull_Dallas's Avatar
Pitbull_Dallas Pitbull_Dallas is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9,591
Thanks: 11,039
Thanked 28,103 Times in 7,344 Posts
Default

When it's doing that, check and see what's running. Right click in your task bar and open task manager, and go from there. When you machine is not in use, it's a good practice to turn it off though. Might as well save the hard drive bearings.

Wouldn't hurt to run a full scan on it also..
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Pitbull_Dallas For This Useful Post:
Old 08-25-2019, 07:10 PM
BigSlick BigSlick is offline
2nd Amendment zealot
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: TN, the patron state of shootin stuff
Posts: 648
Thanks: 2,750
Thanked 1,239 Times in 419 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Old Coach View Post
Using an obsolete O/S as I do, I can't reload some app programs from the web, and loading others that I need from the distro CDs is an all-morning task.

Solution: A while ago an SB member clued me in to how to "clone" one drive to another. I have a couple of spare hard drives, and I have three identical Dells, one in regular use, the others as spares. All five drives in my inventory are clones of one another, and if one were to be compromised I simply wipe it clean and reclone it from one of the others.

DATA of course is backed up weekly, and would be reloaded from the backup. So far I have had to do this just once, and it was for a pretty minor issue (lost the NoScript install, and NoScript that will run on Firefox 52 is no longer on the Web.)

I do run McAfee, plus NoScript, AdBlock, and Privacy Badger.

Another thing is that I'm on Hughes satellite. Don't understand the why of it, but I NEVER see the hundred or so port calls and pings per day that plagued me when I was on DSL, ten+ years ago. I don't even run the firewall logs anymore, they're always blank.
Just curious, what OS are you running?
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2019, 07:45 PM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is offline
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 8,621
Thanks: 2,676
Thanked 17,801 Times in 6,092 Posts
Default

XP-Pro. The last iteration that will support some ancient DOS applications that I still depend upon. That in turn restricts me to Firefox 52.9.0; later versions of FF aren't compiled for XP.

I made an attempt at Linux a couple of years ago, which was a train wreck. Nothing I needed worked, and it took me a whole day to recover. That was before I set up this scheme of cloned drives, and in fact the cloned drives plan grew out of that.
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2019, 10:13 PM
KLF KLF is online now
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 82
Thanked 1,158 Times in 613 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Old Coach View Post
Another thing is that I'm on Hughes satellite. Don't understand the why of it, but I NEVER see the hundred or so port calls and pings per day that plagued me when I was on DSL, ten+ years ago. I don't even run the firewall logs anymore, they're always blank.
Your ISP probably has NAT firewall on your connection. It does not let anything through that you do not ask first.

It is not perfect though, as it will also block legit use cases and make some hard to use if not impossible. That is why most ISPs do not run firewall themselves and let users do it instead.
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2019, 11:22 PM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is offline
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 8,621
Thanks: 2,676
Thanked 17,801 Times in 6,092 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KLF View Post
Your ISP probably has NAT firewall on your connection. It does not let anything through that you do not ask first.

It is not perfect though, as it will also block legit use cases and make some hard to use if not impossible. That is why most ISPs do not run firewall themselves and let users do it instead.
Could be. I'm not aware of any trouble it's causing me, but then I don't know what I don't know. Does occur to me that they have a vested interest in minimizing waste of bandwidth.
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2019, 03:49 AM
BigSlick BigSlick is offline
2nd Amendment zealot
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: TN, the patron state of shootin stuff
Posts: 648
Thanks: 2,750
Thanked 1,239 Times in 419 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Old Coach View Post
XP-Pro. The last iteration that will support some ancient DOS applications that I still depend upon. That in turn restricts me to Firefox 52.9.0; later versions of FF aren't compiled for XP.

I made an attempt at Linux a couple of years ago, which was a train wreck. Nothing I needed worked, and it took me a whole day to recover. That was before I set up this scheme of cloned drives, and in fact the cloned drives plan grew out of that.
You might be interested in ReactOS. Website is here: https://reactos.org/

I have installed this on an old computer and have been quite impressed.
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2019, 03:58 AM
KLF KLF is online now
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 82
Thanked 1,158 Times in 613 Posts
Default

You could buy a Playstation 4 and try to host multiplayer games with your friends. It would not work :D

Likewise other use cases where your home computer services other people somehow, private file server or similar. Those would not work, because other people cannot connect to your computer remotely. A simple file transfer that we used to do back in the days of MSN Messenger, it would not work either.

It is also worth knowing that all those port scans and pings use a small amount of data (up to huge amounts when DDOS attack occurs) and it would be out of your monthly allowance.

So yes, it is also in their interest to protect your connection because even if your own firewall would block all those pings, they would still be sent over your data. Satellite connection is special in the sense that it is not practically unlimited bandwidth like modern fiber optic lines are.
Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Survivalist Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Gender
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © Kevin Felts 2006 - 2015,
Green theme by http://www.themesbydesign.net