Help! Gas fireplace not receiving gas! - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files


Notices

Advertise Here
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2019, 02:26 PM
JanetAfterAll JanetAfterAll is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Cool Help! Gas fireplace not receiving gas!



Advertise Here

Hello! I'm hoping I can find my answer here.

I have a 1450 square foot house and every winter, I go through our entire 100 gallon propane tank heating the house with the gas fireplace. Every year, I forget how to get the gas to go from the tank to the fireplace.

I wasn't here when my local propane company came by to fill the tank, but it's full.

I wanted to start the fire for the first time this season. Here are the steps I followed:

I verified there was gas in the outdoor tank.
I turned on the gas at the outdoor tank (lefty loosey).
I went inside and flipped the switch to the fireplace.
I turned the main fireplace valve (mine is blue) from perpendicular to parallel to the gas line.
I pushed the fireplace switch to "on".
I turned the dial to "pilot".
I pushed the starter button.

Nothing.

I tried turning the blue handle the other direction.

I tried flipping the breaker to that section of the house, and checked all GFCI plugs.

I normally can smell gas in the fireplace before I light the pilot; I smell nothing.

I have pictures of my tank (Worthington) and a video of my steps, but I don't think I can post media here?

I did try to purge the tank. I definitely released some gas at the main valve; I heard the hiss and smelled the gas. I also have a regulator between my main valve and the gas line to the house.

Any DIY suggestions? Thank you!
Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2019, 03:13 PM
Creek Walker's Avatar
Creek Walker Creek Walker is online now
6 Boys and 13 Hands
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 9,968
Thanks: 11,334
Thanked 27,347 Times in 6,889 Posts
Default

Quote:
I turned the dial to "pilot".
Not knowing just what setup you have you may have to hold the dial switch down while in the pilot position.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Creek Walker For This Useful Post:
Old 12-03-2019, 03:22 PM
InOmaha InOmaha is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7,246
Thanks: 6,172
Thanked 22,461 Times in 5,842 Posts
Default

Do you have a secondary valve at the fireplace? Oh, I see you did that.

Then it's probably push the fireplace button in while at the on position, then light it, then turn to pilot.
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2019, 04:29 PM
ajole ajole is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,240
Thanks: 8,201
Thanked 23,567 Times in 7,395 Posts
Default

Every system I know of involves pushing in the button while on "Pilot" to allow gas to flow to the pilot despite being cold and thus not actuating the thermo couple.

Once you get the pilot lit (either a Piezo electric unit or flame lit process) and the sensor gets hot enough, it will cause the thermo couple to open the gas line and you can release the button.

Then turn it to the setting desired, and the main line will finally open, and allow gas into the fire place.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ajole For This Useful Post:
Old 12-03-2019, 05:05 PM
A_SonofLiberty's Avatar
A_SonofLiberty A_SonofLiberty is online now
Live Free or Die
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Live Free or Die
Posts: 3,354
Thanks: 13,326
Thanked 11,593 Times in 2,731 Posts
Default

You have gotten good advice here. Most systems do require a button to be pushed and held while lighting the pilot.
Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2019, 08:31 PM
Justme11's Avatar
Justme11 Justme11 is online now
French Prometheus unbound
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 29,038
Thanks: 32,568
Thanked 70,917 Times in 21,435 Posts
Default

The knob you turn to pilot needs to be held down to light the pilot, and keep holding it down for about a minute, till the flame heats the sensor enough to stay lit.

Then you can turn it to ON.

At least that's the way the ones I had worked.

You might need to clean out the tip of the pilot jets if the little holes are clogged.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Justme11 For This Useful Post:
Old 12-03-2019, 11:40 PM
charliemeyer007's Avatar
charliemeyer007 charliemeyer007 is online now
reluctant sinner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rent Free in your head
Posts: 14,638
Thanks: 33
Thanked 26,051 Times in 9,368 Posts
Default

I have to hold down the button in the pilot position for a while. When the gas gets to pilot it will light (try pushing the pizo lighter every 20 seconds) and I still need to hold the button down for a while. If the pilot stays lit when you let up on the button, then move the knob to the heat setting.

When you figure it out, make note of the proper procedure. Put one at the tank fitting and one by the heater.

after 5 posts you get more privileges like posting pics.
Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2019, 11:50 PM
wellbuilt wellbuilt is offline
Target Shooter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 406
Thanks: 28
Thanked 310 Times in 197 Posts
Default

Most fire places have a Instruction tag on how to light it on a little chain or wire tucked in the bottom of the unit
The fire places I install need to have the gas turned on then the unit is put on pilot and hold the button down , after 30 seconds or so relive the pilot button then turn the unit to on and you should have a fire .
Some times it takes time for the air ti bleed from the line.
There is a thermal coupler looks like 1/8 copper tube that the pilot flame heats , this part gos bad all the time and is a easy fix.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to wellbuilt For This Useful Post:
Old 12-04-2019, 02:43 PM
A_SonofLiberty's Avatar
A_SonofLiberty A_SonofLiberty is online now
Live Free or Die
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Live Free or Die
Posts: 3,354
Thanks: 13,326
Thanked 11,593 Times in 2,731 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wellbuilt View Post
Most fire places have a Instruction tag on how to light it on a little chain or wire tucked in the bottom of the unit
The fire places I install need to have the gas turned on then the unit is put on pilot and hold the button down , after 30 seconds or so relive the pilot button then turn the unit to on and you should have a fire .
Some times it takes time for the air ti bleed from the line.
There is a thermal coupler looks like 1/8 copper tube that the pilot flame heats , this part gos bad all the time and is a easy fix.
IIRC, with a bad thermocouple the furnace would light but would go back out quickly. A lot of times you can polish up the thermocouple with some really fine sand paper and they will work again.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to A_SonofLiberty For This Useful Post:
Old 12-04-2019, 05:42 PM
Stoveman's Avatar
Stoveman Stoveman is online now
VIP Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 901
Thanks: 2,419
Thanked 1,077 Times in 533 Posts
Default

Try this, Turn the burner to on and Hold a flame/lighter on the thermocouple so the valve will open and purge the air out of your gas line.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Stoveman For This Useful Post:
Old 12-04-2019, 06:00 PM
Ready?mom Ready?mom is online now
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago Park, California
Posts: 226
Thanks: 367
Thanked 435 Times in 168 Posts
Default

We couldn’t get the flame to light. We removed the fake logs and found a bunch of thick black ash by the pilot light. Once it was cleaned out the fire has been fine. The guy said he thought the “logs” just burned too hot so he moved them away from the pilot when he replaced them in the fireplace.
Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2019, 03:17 PM
Snyper708's Avatar
Snyper708 Snyper708 is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 2,079
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3,381 Times in 1,261 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanetAfterAll View Post
Hello! I'm hoping I can find my answer here.


Any DIY suggestions? Thank you!
Don't leave us hanging.
Did you get it lit?
Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2019, 10:13 AM
JanetAfterAll JanetAfterAll is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajole View Post
Every system I know of involves pushing in the button while on "Pilot" to allow gas to flow to the pilot despite being cold and thus not actuating the thermo couple.

Once you get the pilot lit (either a Piezo electric unit or flame lit process) and the sensor gets hot enough, it will cause the thermo couple to open the gas line and you can release the button.

Then turn it to the setting desired, and the main line will finally open, and allow gas into the fire place.
THANK YOU! That was the one step I was missing! I got it working and what's even better, I UNDERSTAND why it wasn't working. Yay!
Quick reply to this message
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to JanetAfterAll For This Useful Post:
Old 12-10-2019, 10:14 AM
JanetAfterAll JanetAfterAll is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creek Walker View Post
Not knowing just what setup you have you may have to hold the dial switch down while in the pilot position.
Yes! Thank you! That was it! And I did hold it down, but not long enough. I literally had to hold that pilot light down for about 5 minutes before the gas made its way to the fireplace. But now I have it working and what's better, I understand WHY it wasn't working.
Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2019, 10:16 AM
JanetAfterAll JanetAfterAll is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snyper708 View Post
Don't leave us hanging.
Did you get it lit?
Yes!!!! I did get it working and I understand WHY! I had to hold that pilot down for at least 5 minutes to purge the line. It felt like 10 minutes, so I think it was at least 5. What's better is I now understand WHY it wasn't working and I won't have to go through this again.
Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2019, 10:17 AM
JanetAfterAll JanetAfterAll is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Talking Thank you!

Thank you, everyone! Sorry I left you hanging for a bit, but I am very pleased to report that - thanks to you guys - I not only got my fireplace working, but I understand why it wasn't working. I really appreciate the clarity of your replies as that really helped me get it. THANK YOU! Happy holidays to all!
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JanetAfterAll For This Useful Post:
Old 12-10-2019, 12:29 PM
ajole ajole is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,240
Thanks: 8,201
Thanked 23,567 Times in 7,395 Posts
Default

So...reading the last few replies, I'm not sure...do you understand how and why it works now?



Glad you got it going.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ajole For This Useful Post:
Old 12-10-2019, 01:46 PM
Snyper708's Avatar
Snyper708 Snyper708 is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 2,079
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3,381 Times in 1,261 Posts
Default

It's nice to know they didn't find your frozen body on the floor in front of an unlit heater!
Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2020, 11:35 AM
no guns here no guns here is offline
Hiker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 721
Thanks: 5
Thanked 865 Times in 364 Posts
Default

I have the EXACT same problem. Maybe I just gave up on holding the knob in too soon. Will try again this evening. We KNOW it worked when we inspected the house before we bought it.

Only thing is at some point the propane tank ran completely out (wet line left partially open we think). So we may have to wait extra-long for the gas to hit the fireplace.
Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2020, 07:23 PM
Exarmyguy Exarmyguy is online now
Survivor
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Within view of the Pacific Ocean
Posts: 4,545
Thanks: 5,368
Thanked 9,280 Times in 3,016 Posts
Default

Your thermocouple is probably faulty. This generates a current to keep your gas valve open.
Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Survivalist Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Gender
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © Kevin Felts 2006 - 2015,
Green theme by http://www.themesbydesign.net