Things we throw away now... useful in SHTF - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Notices

Disaster Preparedness General Discussion Anything Disaster Preparedness or Survival Related

Advertise Here

Old 08-06-2019, 09:00 AM

Default Things we throw away now... useful in SHTF

Advertise Here

Newbie here, though I've been lurking for about a year or so. I'll probably rarely chime in much less start a new topic, but here it goes. This may have already been discussed but...

I watch little tv but recently re-watched The Book of Eli and The Road. In the first, a girl asks what things were like before SHTF and I loved this quote:

"People had more than they needed. We had no idea what was precious and what wasn't. We threw away things people kill each other for now."

In that particular movie, that one quote really got me thinking. You see them bartering with little wet wipe packs (as if that wouldn't be dried out by then but...).

What items do we throw away now (and consider "disposable") that you think would be very useful in a SHTF scenario?

For example... One of the items I save that doesn't take up much room are twist-ties, especially the thicker and longer ones that come in toy packaging. I use them a lot around the holidays for hanging things and I also use them a lot when we go camping (hanging things in the tent).
Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2019, 09:10 AM
Hunter

Thanked 2,006 Times in 700 Posts

Books, because when the SHTF, there will be no TV for entertainment or internet for how to do things.

Food, Americans waste a lot of food. Prepare less, eat less, don't waste it prep it.

Good quality long lasting clothing, and shoes, and leather boots, and waterproof boots.

Loose bolts, nuts, screws. Put them in a jar and save them. Many times we needed one and went to the jar and found one that would work.