Survivalist Forum banner
3K views 11 replies 11 participants last post by  Dragunov 
#1 ·
Hello all,
I am new to prepping, have started building my firearm supply plus alot of ammo( and still buying more) trying to buy food at the local grocery of stuff we eat all the time my question is a 6-8 month supply good to have on hand? I will buy as much as possible plus mre and freeze dried stuff just trying to get my head around all of this....have to budget everything and accomplish the prep, but when shtf I will have to hunt and grow veggies for the family to supplement our food supply, so is a inhouse supply of 6-8 months a good base? just feel that time is not on our side as far as a economic issue with the world

#3 ·
That would be a great start! I think a person should have a goal of 1 year plus in case the garden fails after TSHTF.

Not sure of your geographic situation, but the longer term plans should include an orchard, veggie garden, canning, chickens, pond with fish, bees, etc. My plan is to use the long term food for a buffer during winter and tough times.

Good luck!

#4 ·
I think something around 18 months is good to shoot for. That way if the first gardening attempt fails, you still have enough to get you through the following winter *and* growing period of the second attempt at gardening.

But as a short-term goal, 6 months is excellent.
We always say start small. Put back a week's worth. Then two week's worth. Then work to a month saved up. Then three months, then six months, etc. Baby steps, and keep it balanced. Don't spend all of your money on 18 months of food all at once and then have no medical supplies, home defense, etc.

#8 ·
I think something around 18 months is good to shoot for.
My opinion, anything past a couple of months should be supplemented with a garden.

Stockpiling 18 months of beans, rice and oats is fine, but there comes a point when people need fresh foods.