Survivalist Forum banner

Lets clear the air on Store bought Canned goods.

30K views 66 replies 33 participants last post by  ELBUFO 
#1 ·
http://www.grandpappy.info/hshelff.htm

I came across this when looking up the real shelf life of canned foods. From my personal experience I have eatten canned foods that were 5 years past expiration date. These canned foods were kept in a dry mild climate. The can had no visible signs of dents or rust. When opening it, it tasted just fine.

http://www.whatcom.wsu.edu/family/facts/shelflif.htm

I am no expert, but when it comes to stock piling foods, I am worried we might be throwing good foods away. Low-acidic foods like tomatoes, carrots, potatoes, pumpkin, and peas might last even longer.

Bacteria growth often will buldge the can. However from what I have read this is rather rare. You can also do a smell and taste test.

#4 ·
I still have a huge jar of Green Beans. It's at least 5 years old.

The can is huge, and I have never had a reason to make that much.

It will probably be in my pantry another 5 years.

#10 ·
Darn, you're right. I thought it was low acid because when you can them, you have to add a little lemon juice. But I read that it's actually used to lower the PH levels....

What are exactly ph levels? :taped:

Google time.

Reactions: grandma and VINCENT
#6 ·
My Grandmother who just passed away recently at the ripe old age of 97 was famous for using OLD food. She used to bring us canned goods that when we checked the date would be in the '80's. This is the same stuff she ate on a regular basis. WE didn't eat it, but she did and served old stuff to anyone who stopped by and not only did no one get sick, but it sure didn't hurt her longevity:D:

#8 ·