Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Notices

Advertise Here
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alaska Secession foxkitten86 General Discussion 8 03-01-2018 10:21 PM
Communication Complete Newbie- where to start? happypreppermom Communications 26 06-12-2017 06:26 AM

Old 09-20-2018, 02:13 PM
In the Taiga

Default Solo 1,500 mile Traverse of Alaska

Advertise Here

Hi Folks!

This summer I started up at the Arctic Ocean in Alaska and hiked south over the Brooks Range. Then I paddled down a series of rivers including the Yukon, before doing a week-long portage to the Kuskokwim River. From there I paddled to Pacific tidewater.

Needless to say I saw lots of animals: grizzly, black bears, wolverine, lynx, thousands of caribou, moose, sheep and much more.

Since I got back I've been posting my journal and photos. I think you'll find it interesting. This link has a map of the trip and a link to my journal entries.

I will be happy to answer any questions you have here.

Thanks!
Buck

Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2018, 02:50 PM
Survivor

Thanked 6,980 Times in 2,478 Posts

Did you bring any guns?
What did you do for food the entire time?
Did you have more than the 1 cache at the start?
Did you have any scary encounters with the wildlife?

Details man! Sounds like a very fun trip of a lifetime.
Old 09-20-2018, 03:05 PM
In the Taiga

Quote:
Originally Posted by FalconsBravesHawks View Post
Did you bring any guns?
What did you do for food the entire time?
Did you have more than the 1 cache at the start?
Did you have any scary encounters with the wildlife?

Details man! Sounds like a very fun trip of a lifetime.
I didn't bring a gun, just bear spray. I had the food I flew out with and three other caches along the way. Along with the hiking/kayaking type of food I normally carry, I ate some grayling and pike and picked berries.