What kind of computer are you using? - Page 2 - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files


Notices

The Tech Zone Discussion on computers, software and games.

Advertise Here
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What kind of disaster do you fear the most? And why? Black Jack Disaster Preparedness General Discussion 90 09-16-2017 08:22 PM
What kind of wood should I chose for a billy club walking staff hybrid? Punchy71 Primitive Weapons, Bows and Crossbows 51 08-18-2017 11:50 PM
Using my office computer in my living room. CaffeineBuzz The Tech Zone 13 03-10-2017 03:55 AM
New member lacking computer skills jl New Member Introduction 13 10-25-2016 01:17 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2018, 06:18 AM
JDH's Avatar
JDH JDH is offline
Si vis pacem, para bellum
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6,523
Thanks: 681
Thanked 10,112 Times in 3,889 Posts
Default



Advertise Here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Why did ppl call it TRASH?? I remember my friend Jeff on the CB called his TRASH 80 in the 80s also...... Are they really that bad??
For their day they were well build state of the art technology. They were built by Tandy Corp and labeled with the Radio Shack brand. Everyone knows anything with a Radio Shack label was junk. Radio Shack name + TRS in the Model name = TRASH. I did my college Basic and Fortan programming at home on mine, Sent it to the lab at school by 110 baud modem, and had no problem running it on the Comp Sci departments IBM 360.( have I dated myself yet?)
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 06:31 AM
varuna's Avatar
varuna varuna is offline
Dog & Reptiles eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Surabaya, Indonesia
Age: 41
Posts: 1,406
Thanks: 593
Thanked 1,307 Times in 689 Posts
Post

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini, running custom kernel + mod
Sony Xperia Z3, running security hardened custom kernel + mod
Samsung S4 (I9500), running custom kernel + mod
Sony Xperia Z3 Tablet Compact, running custom kernel + mod

variety of Single-board computer (mostly Raspberry Pi) that come and go depending on operational need.

Acer Aspire One AOD260, running Windows 7 starter & Ubuntu
Acer E5-553G, running Windows 7 & Ubuntu

several ASIC miners

Apparently I'm going to need another laptop though
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 06:58 AM
KLF KLF is offline
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,189
Thanks: 83
Thanked 1,225 Times in 651 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Thank you for entry KLF

You forgot to list your computer buddy....
Nah. It's just a bit more than one or two lines of text so I needed more time.

I just returned from the store with a new case, aio cpu cooler and power supply. I'm going to replace this laptop I'm now typing on with a microatx desktop. Something to tinker with since I just got three days of sick leave due nasty flu.

I have a separate gaming computer, it's currently as follows:
i7 4790k, watercooled
16GB ram
EVGA 1080ti watercooled
three SSD drives (500,500,250)
two spinning drives (2TB, 3TB)
Corsair Crystal 460x case
Monitor is Philips 43" 4K HDR television

This websurfer is a HP laptop
8760w Elitebook 17"
i7 2670QM
16GB ram
Quadro 2000 graphics
one SSD, 250GB
two spinning drives, 500GB and 750GB
two monitors, 27" and 24" fullHD

The parts I bought today will replace that laptop in everyday use
Intel Xeon E3-1245V3, Corsair H45 watercooler
16GB ram
Nvidia GTX970
Fractal Design ARC2 matx (impulse buy today, it was more than 50% cheaper than elsewhere)
drives will be a mix from that laptop and some others I have around

I'm looking for this upgrade to give me more usable desk space. Laptop while lid closed in a docking station still takes a lot room off my desk.

In a closet where I have most of my network stuff is a little fella called HP Microserver G8.
i3-3240
16GB ram
250GB ssd main drive (this need to change, it's wasted there)
two 2TB drives in raid-1 and two 8TB drives as storage
This one runs several virtual machines. I lately made one for PLEX and apparently the i3 isn't quite beefy enough to serve 4k content so the next upgrade will be a low-power Xeon for that one. Unfortunately they don't come cheap even if they are several generations old already.

What else... a bunch of other tablets and laptops. I prefer used stuff that I pay fraction of original price or even better, free.
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2018, 08:51 AM
Explainist Explainist is online now
Hunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,645
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3,452 Times in 1,065 Posts
Default

Quote:
Why did ppl call it TRASH?? I remember my friend Jeff on the CB called his TRASH 80 in the 80s also...... Are they really that bad??
no, just a pun on the TRS in TRS-80. TRS > Tandy Radio Shack

Laptop: hp Pavilion D7 running Ubuntu 16.04
Tower: Antec something something, 1 tb HDD, running Ubuntu 16.04 Eventual goal: add 4: 3 gb HDDS and a blu ray player, capture all my DVDs, make it a DVD server
Electronics workbench: A Raspberry Pi B3 running Raspbian. I plan on getting more. OK for surfing if you don't download videos, or big picture files.

For those who don't know: Raspberry Pi is essentially a 1994 computer the size of a deck of cards. 4 USB, HDMI, wifi, ethernet, boots and runs off a TF card, which is the proper name of a Micro SD card. you can velcro them to the back of a monitor, keep the data on a NAS. $50 with a case.
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 11:09 AM
MI.oldguy's Avatar
MI.oldguy MI.oldguy is offline
Man of few words
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Near the largest fresh water lake in CONUS
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 277
Thanked 1,482 Times in 696 Posts
Default

e-machines tower,8 gb ram 800 gb hd 10 years old.running win 7 hp.1 tb ext hd for backup, vids and pics

I dont want to upgrade.I like win 7.
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 11:36 AM
Byte Byte is offline
Get bent
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 343
Thanks: 408
Thanked 474 Times in 220 Posts
Default

In the same boat as KLF...I fiddle with too many to even remember what's in what and where. Have so many different setups running different things at different times. Hope I don't start developing old timers...though i guess if I can't remember I have them or where to find them it won't matter so much!

For me lately the only one that really matters as to capability is what I am gaming on so here's the specs on that box!

i7-7700 Kaby Lake @ 4.8GHz w/ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ring AIO (runs fine at 5.2GHz)
GSkill TridentZ 32GB DDR4 3200 (2x16GB)
ASUS Maximus IX Apex Z270
Samsung 960 Pro M.2 (1TB [2x512GB] raid 0 boot drive in the DIMM.2 slot)
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW DT Hybrid (AIO water cooled)
Win 10 Pro 64-bit (meh, is what it is)
ASUS ROG PG278Q 27" G-Sync WQHD 144Hz 1ms (hopefully replacing this soon)
be quiet! Dark Base Pro 900 ATX case Black/Orange (had to match the Jeep doncha'no!)
Logitec G710+ mech keyboard
Corsair M65 Pro RGB wired mouse (so love this thing!)
Corsair VOID Pro RGB wired headset (an eargasm! of sound and comfort)


Getting ready to add a 2TB Samsung 860 Pro 2.5" SSD for video capture storage.


Guess that's pretty much the gaming rig setup for now. Oddly, it seems like there should be a whole lot more there when I look at the invoice total! Yeesh...maybe need a new hobby.

Have the urge to drag my Amiga 500 out to play A-10 Tank Killer and Dungeon Master lately. Have so much nostalgia for my youth! Too bad I sold my C64. Had all the accessories for it too! Have my TRS-80 in a box somewhere though.
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 12:13 PM
JDH's Avatar
JDH JDH is offline
Si vis pacem, para bellum
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6,523
Thanks: 681
Thanked 10,112 Times in 3,889 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImStillHere View Post
My commodore 64, with its cassette tape back up drive, and hand wound 300 baud cradle modem.
Got one in the junk room. I should hook it up to see it it still works.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to JDH For This Useful Post:
Old 03-14-2018, 01:11 PM
Explainist Explainist is online now
Hunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,645
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3,452 Times in 1,065 Posts
Default

Quote:
Got one in the junk room.
I can see flapjawed busybodies getting worked up, "if you know it's junk.." my whole house is a junk room. put a sign on the door thar says "miscellaneous", and you're organized.
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 02:18 PM
Mountain's Avatar
Mountain Mountain is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Idaho
Age: 50
Posts: 3,435
Thanks: 5,785
Thanked 7,253 Times in 2,355 Posts
Default

Luckily we have a pretty big house to fit computers in, although as big as it is it is still tough to find room for all of them..

My wife has three laptops and a tower, the oldest laptop is a Compaq Presario which I have upgraded to windows 98 then upgraded to windows ME. Her next laptop is an old Dell that came with win XPpro. Her newest laptop is an old Gateway running windows 8. Her tower is an old HP nothing special and I have Win XP pro installed on it. The wife also has a kindle and a small tablet that she uses for books/games and internet use when she is in bed (with her bone infection she is often on bedrest for a year or more at a time).

My lowest computer is an old HP tower running windows XPpro upstairs in the sound room. Then I have my tower here on the kitchen table an old HP Pavillion 4core 2.4 Ghz with 8 gigs upper memory and 1 Terrabyte storage running windows 7 Pro, nothing powerful but it works on the internet and it is reliable. I also have a Dell Inspiron 5420 laptop with dual core 2.4 Ghz, 4 gigs upper and 500 gig hard drive, it is a pretty good computer it has a reasonably good video card Intel HD 3000 graphics so it can play some games.

My son Ted has an old Gateway dual core with 4 gigs upper mem and a 500 gig hdd running win 7 Pro ( I downgraded it from win8 ). He can run all the games the kids like to play, minecraft, Skyrim etc... He also has an octacore android (I think it is called a tablet maybe) it is good for music vieos and games etc.

Jarad has the same Gateway computer but his is still running Win8 he uses his mostly for music/videos and movies, not much of a gamer. Jarad also has the octa core android thingy.

John has something called an alienware computer specifically designed for hardcore gaming, it is an impressive laptop... John also has the octa core android thing. John also bought an old Gateway off Ebay with a 6 core processor running win 10, I hate that computer it is near impossible to turn crap off on that thing it try to connect to every computer that happens to drive by on the dang county road in spite of turning all that crap off. It connects to the neighbors wifi somehow, the thing is dang near uncontrollable.

Sierra has an old Gateway the same as Ted and Jarad and hers is still running win8 like Jarads. Sierra also has a tablet and a kindle which she uses for games/books and internet.

Then we have some old generic family computers setup around the house, we have two old old HP towers setup with XP pro for general use and an old tower with win 95 setup on it for use with our oldest games. I have another 10 or 12 computers in storage because quite frankly I have no interest in having any more computers inb the dang house. I used to have one room designated as a computer room and I had 12 computers networked together for the kids t play multiplayer games, but I eventually did away with that, kids would come over and never wanted to leave again.... lol... The old computer room is now my sound room.
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 04:13 PM
Dragunov's Avatar
Dragunov Dragunov is offline
TEXAS!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Great Republic of Texas!
Posts: 7,135
Thanks: 10,678
Thanked 11,226 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

My "Daily Driver" is a Lenovo T440p/1600x900/i7-4700 Quad Core/16gbRAM/960gbSSD/1tbHDD/Win8.1/Backlit keyboard. It does everything for me, including gaming.

My actual "gaming" machine is an MSI GL62M 7RDX/16gbRAM/128gb NVMe drive (soon to be a 512gb NVMe drive)/1tbHDD (soon to be a 1tb SSD)/nVidia 1050Ti/i7-7700 Quad Core/Win10pro.

My Linux box is a Lenovo T400/8gb RAM/500gb HDD/Linux Mint 18.1/Core2Duo 2.53ghz.

I built my daughter a computer. Lenovo T430s/i7/8gbRAM/Win10pro/180gbSSD/500gb HDD/nVidia NVS5200m/1600x900/nice backlit keyboard. When she gets home on leave, she gets it.

My Wife has an HP15 f387wm/Touchscreen/12gbRAM/180gb SSD/A8/Radeon R5/Win8.1Pro. Works really well, but has the build quality of an 85 Yugo. She wants a backlit keyboard, but none available for it right now.

I also have a few gaming towers that I don't use, except for a CyberPower tower I'm refurbing. Going to use that one.

I have MANY others, mostly for sale, from a few Lenovo R400's to a Dell Latitude 6430, w/nVidia graphics, and everything in between. Another T440p,T420s, T420, an IdeaPad y410p (gamer), and a couple more HP15 Touchscreens, A pretty decent Gateway 17.3 gamer, an Asus ROG, Asus K53e, and quite a few others. Most are Win7pro, some are Win8.1, a couple are Win10.

Everything (for sale) has at least 8gb/RAM, and a 500gb HDD minimum.
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 04:44 PM
JDH's Avatar
JDH JDH is offline
Si vis pacem, para bellum
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6,523
Thanks: 681
Thanked 10,112 Times in 3,889 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Explainist View Post
I can see flapjawed busybodies getting worked up, "if you know it's junk.." my whole house is a junk room. put a sign on the door thar says "miscellaneous", and you're organized.
The electronics recycler I use only takes pallet loads. Electronics sit in the junk room until there is a load to take off. That is my story and I'm sticking to it.
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2018, 06:29 PM
Traveler's Avatar
Traveler Traveler is online now
Prepared
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 399
Thanks: 944
Thanked 1,046 Times in 302 Posts
Default

Main home pc is something I built several years ago using an old "cube" server case. It contains core I7 3.5g processor on an Asus P8Z77-V-LE Plus MB running 32GB memory on W7 64 bit with (2) 1TB WD hard drives. It has room for 2 more hard drives in the rack plus I have a 3 bay removable hard drive unit. Using dual 22 inch Viewsonic monitors and AMD Radeon HD 7800 series Video card. Sound is through a Diamond Xtreme XS 7.1 sound card, a refurbed Techniques SA-GX770 amp/tuner unit, Boston Acoustics CR789 bookshelf speakers and a Yamaha SW-2 sub. It sounds awesome!

I have an HP Pavilion Slimline S5610F desktop as my TV/media center computer that sits behind the living room TV. It has AMD Athlon X2 250 3.0g processor, memory is maxed at 8gb, integrated audio & video, 640gb HD. I inherited this one, cleaned it out and dedicated it to the media center.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Traveler For This Useful Post:
Old 03-14-2018, 09:14 PM
CONELRAD's Avatar
CONELRAD CONELRAD is offline
Emergency Planner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 2,485
Thanks: 481
Thanked 4,032 Times in 1,615 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Byte View Post
In the same boat as KLF...I fiddle with too many to even remember what's in what and where. Have so many different setups running different things at different times. Hope I don't start developing old timers...though i guess if I can't remember I have them or where to find them it won't matter so much!



For me lately the only one that really matters as to capability is what I am gaming on so here's the specs on that box!



i7-7700 Kaby Lake @ 4.8GHz w/ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ring AIO (runs fine at 5.2GHz)

GSkill TridentZ 32GB DDR4 3200 (2x16GB)

ASUS Maximus IX Apex Z270

Samsung 960 Pro M.2 (1TB [2x512GB] raid 0 boot drive in the DIMM.2 slot)

EVGA GTX 1080 FTW DT Hybrid (AIO water cooled)

Win 10 Pro 64-bit (meh, is what it is)

ASUS ROG PG278Q 27" G-Sync WQHD 144Hz 1ms (hopefully replacing this soon)

be quiet! Dark Base Pro 900 ATX case Black/Orange (had to match the Jeep doncha'no!)

Logitec G710+ mech keyboard

Corsair M65 Pro RGB wired mouse (so love this thing!)

Corsair VOID Pro RGB wired headset (an eargasm! of sound and comfort)





Getting ready to add a 2TB Samsung 860 Pro 2.5" SSD for video capture storage.





Guess that's pretty much the gaming rig setup for now. Oddly, it seems like there should be a whole lot more there when I look at the invoice total! Yeesh...maybe need a new hobby.



Have the urge to drag my Amiga 500 out to play A-10 Tank Killer and Dungeon Master lately. Have so much nostalgia for my youth! Too bad I sold my C64. Had all the accessories for it too! Have my TRS-80 in a box somewhere though.


For a while I kept my 64 and Ami set up in the basement and would go down and start them up a couple of times a year for old times sake. The C=64 and Amiga emulators that are out there now helped motivate me to ditch the actual hardware I had collecting dust in the attic. Now I can play my old games and try games I never had the opportunity to try back in the day.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CONELRAD For This Useful Post:
Old 03-15-2018, 12:32 AM
Dude111 Dude111 is offline
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,625
Thanks: 6,197
Thanked 3,710 Times in 1,894 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KLF
Nah. It's just a bit more than one or two lines of text so I needed more time.

I just returned from the store with a new case, aio cpu cooler and power supply. I'm going to replace this laptop I'm now typing on with a microatx desktop. Something to tinker with since I just got three days of sick leave due nasty flu.
Im so sorry buddy... I hope you are feeling better now

Thanx for your list!!
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2018, 01:46 AM
lil'mike lil'mike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 70
Thanks: 16
Thanked 60 Times in 33 Posts
Default

I used to have quite a few desktops and parts cause I built pc's for many, many years. I stopped building them and got rid of most of the access stuff, although I still have like 3-4 keyboards in boxes and a big plastic tube with cables, some hard drives, flash drives, external hard drive caddy to copy, format drives, probably some memory etc in them that I need to get rid of since I don't use any of it.

Prior to me quitting building them, I setup my two son's, now 30 and 26 years old with i7 gamer desktop with 32g ram, high end video cards, ton's of space etc.

So for myself I have two laptops.

1.) Asus with 13.3 or 14 inch screen, i5, 8g ram, vid card etc running linux, linux mint 18.
2.) HP with a 15.6 inch screen, i7, 8g, video card, etc that runs windows 8.1 on it and has high resolution. ( I really only use it if I find a task or something I cannot do in linux, then I will fire it up!)

The wife uses Samsung tablet's, she has two of them, the 18.4 and 12.2 Pro version both with great graphics for vid watching and surfing!

Oldest son has the gaming desktop with dual monitor's and a higher end laptop.

Younger son has the gaming desktop with dual monitor's.

I used to use a desktop or two or three for playing with different linux's and for playing around with virtual box stuff and had one for a home server too but now no desktops! I will admit I have been thinking about finding one to play on again! I even had a couple of Apple desktops to play on and learn stuff/software on them but that was many years ago now!
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2018, 09:34 AM
Byte Byte is offline
Get bent
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 343
Thanks: 408
Thanked 474 Times in 220 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WImountainMan View Post
For a while I kept my 64 and Ami set up in the basement and would go down and start them up a couple of times a year for old times sake. The C=64 and Amiga emulators that are out there now helped motivate me to ditch the actual hardware I had collecting dust in the attic. Now I can play my old games and try games I never had the opportunity to try back in the day.
Yeah have thought about the emulator route. Have a friend that loves them and playing games on them sitting at the PC was...meh. He then built an upright arcade cabinet for the pc complete with all the knobs, joysticks and buttons. That really changed the feeling of playing them. I'm not sure it's worth the expense to have him build me one though. We do get quite a few games of Galaga, Dig Dug, Joust & Asteroids in when he throws BBQ's though. And a thousand other titles too. He doesn't have any of the Commodore stuff though. I had thought about building a Raspberry Pi Amiga emulator at some point. Still might do that. Wish there was more time in a day...

Oh, as an aside, I was looking at SSD's again last night and the 860 Pro 2TB is still around $1200+...yeesh. Had to roll back and settle for a 6TB WD Black spinner. More time in the day and more digits in the ole bank account...if only wishes were fishes...
Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2018, 10:07 AM
CONELRAD's Avatar
CONELRAD CONELRAD is offline
Emergency Planner
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 2,485
Thanks: 481
Thanked 4,032 Times in 1,615 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Byte View Post
Yeah have thought about the emulator route. Have a friend that loves them and playing games on them sitting at the PC was...meh. He then built an upright arcade cabinet for the pc complete with all the knobs, joysticks and buttons. That really changed the feeling of playing them. I'm not sure it's worth the expense to have him build me one though. We do get quite a few games of Galaga, Dig Dug, Joust & Asteroids in when he throws BBQ's though. And a thousand other titles too. He doesn't have any of the Commodore stuff though. I had thought about building a Raspberry Pi Amiga emulator at some point. Still might do that. Wish there was more time in a day...
I hear you on the arcade emulation. I've toyed around with building a cabinet, but like you, just don't have enough hours in the day to devote to it right now. The C=64 and Amiga stuff is actually nicer on the PC (I think) because you can do saved-states for games, instantly save what's going on and restore back to it. You can emulate scan-lines, so it looks pretty realistic. If you want a good turn-key Amiga-emulator for PC solution, nothing beats Cloanto's Amiga Forever. It's $30 and comes with an easy-to-use front end and a bunch of games. They have a C64 product too, but C64 emulators like VICE are considerably easier to use. If the games you want aren't included, you can probably find them somewhere on the web.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to CONELRAD For This Useful Post:
Old 03-16-2018, 12:08 PM
KLF KLF is offline
Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FIN
Posts: 1,189
Thanks: 83
Thanked 1,225 Times in 651 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Im so sorry buddy... I hope you are feeling better now


Getting better. I think this new one came out quite nice. Matx case, it has two 2.5" drives (when all the software is installed, I'm going to clone the hdd to ssd from my laptop) and three 1.5TB 3.5" spinners.

I put in GTX970 and a sound blaster sound card, along with bluray/hd dvd player. I had to change the fan on AIO cooler right away, it had a nasty sound. Luckily I had two good fans around from the other computer's AIO cooler so I was able to make push-pull config for the rad. BR drive isn't connected because I ran out of sata cables... :D

I had huge problems installing windows at first but all the problems went away after I replaced a faulty ram with working one. That's the problem with trash can parts, you never know what you'll get.

50 for the case, 60 for cpu cooler. 75 for used motherboard (I didn't even haggle down the price because it was what I needed and I looked after one for weeks). Rest of the parts were free leftovers from other projects.

The next part of the project will be prepping and transffering all the data from this laptop to the new PC so nothing important won't be lost.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to KLF For This Useful Post:
Old 03-16-2018, 05:15 PM
Dragunov's Avatar
Dragunov Dragunov is offline
TEXAS!!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Great Republic of Texas!
Posts: 7,135
Thanks: 10,678
Thanked 11,226 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KLF View Post


Getting better. I think this new one came out quite nice. Matx case, it has two 2.5" drives (when all the software is installed, I'm going to clone the hdd to ssd from my laptop) and three 1.5TB 3.5" spinners.

I put in GTX970 and a sound blaster sound card, along with bluray/hd dvd player. I had to change the fan on AIO cooler right away, it had a nasty sound. Luckily I had two good fans around from the other computer's AIO cooler so I was able to make push-pull config for the rad. BR drive isn't connected because I ran out of sata cables... :D

I had huge problems installing windows at first but all the problems went away after I replaced a faulty ram with working one. That's the problem with trash can parts, you never know what you'll get.

50 for the case, 60 for cpu cooler. 75 for used motherboard (I didn't even haggle down the price because it was what I needed and I looked after one for weeks). Rest of the parts were free leftovers from other projects.

The next part of the project will be prepping and transffering all the data from this laptop to the new PC so nothing important won't be lost.
Nice!
Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Survivalist Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Gender
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © Kevin Felts 2006 - 2015,
Green theme by http://www.themesbydesign.net