Firefox forcing disable of AdBlock? - Page 3 - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files


Notices

The Tech Zone Discussion on computers, software and games.

Advertise Here
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The new Adblock plus and Forum create slow to load issues. MattB4 The Tech Zone 24 11-29-2017 02:41 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2019, 11:35 AM
America's Patriot's Avatar
America's Patriot America's Patriot is offline
LEGAL citizen
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 14,630
Thanks: 2,804
Thanked 28,815 Times in 9,491 Posts
Default



Advertise Here

Known bug. Always report it and then give them time to fix it.

Updates – Last Updated: 17:04 EDT May 9, 2019

  • A less technical blog post about the outage is also available. If you enabled telemetry to get the initial fix, we’re deleting all data collected since May 4. (May 9, 17:04 EDT)
  • Mozilla CTO Eric Rescorla posted a blog on the technical details of what went wrong last weekend. (May 9, 16:20 EDT)
  • We’ve released Firefox 66.0.5 for Desktop and Android, and Firefox ESR 60.6.3, which include the permanent fix for re-enabling add-ons that were disabled starting on May 3rd. The initial, temporary fix that was deployed May 4th through the Studies system is replaced by these updates, and we recommend updating as soon as possible. Users who enabled Studies to receive the temporary fix, and have updated to the permanent fix, can now disable Studies if they desire.For users who cannot update to the latest version of Firefox or Firefox ESR, we plan to distribute an update that automatically applies the fix to versions 52 through 60. This fix will also be available as a user-installable extension. For anyone still experiencing issues in versions 61 through 65, we plan to distribute a fix through a user-installable extension. These extensions will not require users to enable Studies, and we’ll provide an update when they are available. (May 8, 19:28 EDT)
  • Firefox 66.0.5 has been released, and we recommend that people update to that version if they continue to experience problems with extensions being disabled. You’ll get an update notification within 24 hours, or you can initiate an update manually. An update to ESR 60.6.3 is also available as of 16:00 UTC May 8th. We’re continuing to work on a fix for older versions of Firefox, and will update this post and on social media as we have more information. (May 8, 11:51 EDT)
  • A Firefox release has been pushed — version 66.0.4 on Desktop and Android, and version 60.6.2 for ESR. This release repairs the certificate chain to re-enable web extensions, themes, search engines, and language packs that had been disabled (Bug 1549061). There are remaining issues that we are actively working to resolve, but we wanted to get this fix out before Monday to lessen the impact of disabled add-ons before the start of the week. More information about the remaining issues can be found by clicking on the links to the release notes above. (May 5, 16:25 EDT)
  • Some users are reporting that they do not have the “hotfix-update-xpi-signing-intermediate-bug-1548973” study active in “about:studies”. Rather than using work-arounds, which can lead to issues later on, we strongly recommend that you continue to wait. If it’s possible for you to receive the hotfix, you should get it by 6am EDT, 24 hours after it was first released. For everyone else, we are working to ship a more permanent solution. (May 5, 00:54 EDT)
  • There are a number of work-arounds being discussed in the community. These are not recommended as they may conflict with fixes we are deploying. We’ll let you know when further updates are available that we recommend, and appreciate your patience. (May 4, 15:01 EDT)
  • Temporarily disabled commenting on this post given volume and duplication. They’ll be re-enabled as more updates become available. (May 4, 13:02 EDT)
  • Updated the post to clarify that deleting extensions can result in data loss, and should not be used to attempt a fix. (May 4, 12:58 EDT)
  • Clarified that the study may appear in either the Active studies or Completed studies of “about:studies” (May 4, 12:10 EDT)
  • We’re aware that some users are reporting that their extensions remain disabled with both studies active. We’re tracking this issue on Bugzilla in bug 1549078. (May 4, 12:03 EDT)
  • Clarified that the Studies fix applies only to Desktop users of Firefox distributed by Mozilla. Firefox ESR, Firefox for Android, and some versions of Firefox included with Linux distributions will require separate updates. (May 4, 12:03 EDT)
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to America's Patriot For This Useful Post:
Old 05-13-2019, 01:08 PM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is online now
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 7,810
Thanks: 2,274
Thanked 16,177 Times in 5,499 Posts
Default

Gloriosky! Sunday overnight Mozilla published an update to their "unsupported" version 52.
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2019, 08:22 PM
chrispeddler chrispeddler is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Old Coach View Post
Saw a comment on another site, looked up and sure enough my AdBlock is gone. Try to reload from the www.adblock.com site, and Firefox declares that the download is corrupt.

I'm running FF 59.2.0 on top of XP-Pro. Thought FF wasn't even updating that revision.

NoScript still working.

Anybody know anything?
You might also want to try similar ad blockers like Ublock, HTTPS Everywhere
Disconnect...etc...all are available for Firefox users.
Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-22-2019, 01:14 AM
Central Scrutinizer's Avatar
Central Scrutinizer Central Scrutinizer is offline
Wer sind da Gehirnpolizei
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 2,264
Thanked 2,229 Times in 1,203 Posts
Default

I have Win Xp so I have the locked down, unsupported FF 52.9.0 Today, Ad block went nuts while I restarted FF (It jams up a lot), Ad Block started tallying up dozens of hits and pages would load only text. I had to disable it. Anyone else find this problem.?

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2019, 01:51 AM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is online now
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 7,810
Thanks: 2,274
Thanked 16,177 Times in 5,499 Posts
Default

FF says 52.9.0* is unsupported, but they did drop an update on the 11th week to fix the addons problem. Try the HELP pulldown menu and then go to About Firefox. It may be there. It loaded for me, although I'm still using the 2017 version of AdBlock (2.66.0) which ran fine without the FF update, because everything is working fine and I don't want to risk messing it up.

https://help.getadblock.com/support/...ion-of-adblock.

*I'm running FF 52.9.0, not version 59.2.0 That was a brain fade that slipped in when I first posted.

As far as I could see, later versions of AdBlock have a lot of new features and language support that are of no importance to us dinosaurs. (Finnish? I've never met a Finn who didn't speak flawless English, and Russian, and German, and Swedish, usually.) Chrome O/S? I don't think so! Android? Stop, you're making me laugh too hard.

Query: Are you also running NoScript? If NoScript is turned on, many site will only load text until you whitelist the specific site.
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2019, 02:25 AM
Central Scrutinizer's Avatar
Central Scrutinizer Central Scrutinizer is offline
Wer sind da Gehirnpolizei
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 2,264
Thanked 2,229 Times in 1,203 Posts
Default

Yeah, I probably have 52.9.0 as well. I have not checked to see if they have another update for me, I will check. I liked Ad Nauseum ad blocker. It worked well and I hope to get it back.

This behavior of ad block was very weird. I don't have no script installed .

Fact is, I am going to have bite the bullet and upgrade to Win 10. I just got a client that has some Visio files in VSDX and those are not supported in WInXp. Until this point, I had only a browser issue. Sad thing is that I will probably lose compatability with some legacy software for which there is no replacement. My computer supports 64 bit, but I suppose it has a lot of hours racked up, so with it, the monitors might need replacing as DVI HDMI is passe now.

We have five other desk and laptop computers in the house running Win10 , mine has been the holdout because it sees little downtime and is loaded with legacy software.

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2019, 02:43 AM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is online now
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 7,810
Thanks: 2,274
Thanked 16,177 Times in 5,499 Posts
Default

Legacy software is why I'm still on XP, also. Back about 1990 I learned CAD on an early DOS implementation of Anvil, which is very intuitive if you learned drafting on a board, which I did. It completely ruined me for learning AutoCAD. And all of what remained of my professional career from '93 on I had a staff of AutoCAD mechanics at my beck and call to do detail design and documentation. By comparison today, Anvil is no more than a sketchpad, but that's all I need in my retirement.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to The Old Coach For This Useful Post:
Old 05-23-2019, 09:58 AM
Watchingtheweasels's Avatar
Watchingtheweasels Watchingtheweasels is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7,365
Thanks: 7,566
Thanked 15,719 Times in 4,926 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Old Coach View Post
Saw a comment on another site, looked up and sure enough my AdBlock is gone. Try to reload from the www.adblock.com site, and Firefox declares that the download is corrupt.

I'm running FF 59.2.0 on top of XP-Pro. Thought FF wasn't even updating that revision.

NoScript still working.

Anybody know anything?
Windows XP-Pro?

If so, you've got bigger security problems than whether or not Firefox is permitting or disabling Adblock.

I'm running the latest Firefox (67.0) on Linux with Adblock Plus, Privacy Badger, HTTPS everywhere, and No Script without any issues.

I wonder if the extension is no longer compatible with that version of Firefox being too old or with XP itself.
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2019, 12:17 PM
Central Scrutinizer's Avatar
Central Scrutinizer Central Scrutinizer is offline
Wer sind da Gehirnpolizei
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 2,264
Thanked 2,229 Times in 1,203 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Old Coach View Post
Legacy software is why I'm still on XP, also. Back about 1990 I learned CAD on an early DOS implementation of Anvil, which is very intuitive if you learned drafting on a board, which I did. It completely ruined me for learning AutoCAD. And all of what remained of my professional career from '93 on I had a staff of AutoCAD mechanics at my beck and call to do detail design and documentation. By comparison today, Anvil is no more than a sketchpad, but that's all I need in my retirement.
I started using Visio decades ago. I never used AutoCad because the work I was producing was not required to that level of detail and the company I was working for had a draftsman and one license for him . Visio can do some amazing stuff once you get familiar with it.

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2019, 07:43 PM
ralfy's Avatar
ralfy ralfy is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,860
Thanks: 94
Thanked 1,453 Times in 1,037 Posts
Default

Try Mozilla forks like Waterfox, which removes privacy issues.

For add-ons, try uBlock Origin.

For Chrome users, there's Iridium.

Finally, keep in mind that older operating systems no longer have security updates.
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2019, 08:09 PM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is online now
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 7,810
Thanks: 2,274
Thanked 16,177 Times in 5,499 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralfy View Post
Try Mozilla forks like Waterfox, which removes privacy issues.

For add-ons, try uBlock Origin.

For Chrome users, there's Iridium.

Finally, keep in mind that older operating systems no longer have security updates.
*YAWN* Didn't read the thread, did you.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to The Old Coach For This Useful Post:
Old 05-23-2019, 11:23 PM
Texas Fire's Avatar
Texas Fire Texas Fire is online now
Texas chooses people.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East TEXAS
Posts: 1,842
Thanks: 2,855
Thanked 1,832 Times in 902 Posts
Default

XP Pro here as well. Dumped FF when she first started misbehaving about 6 months back. Now use maxthon with sea monkey as backup. Maxthon has a habit of blocking certain sites. No sweat, I just crank up the other browser
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2019, 11:52 PM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is online now
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 7,810
Thanks: 2,274
Thanked 16,177 Times in 5,499 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Fire View Post
XP Pro here as well. Dumped FF when she first started misbehaving about 6 months back. Now use maxthon with sea monkey as backup. Maxthon has a habit of blocking certain sites. No sweat, I just crank up the other browser
About six months ago I started getting short (10-15 seconds) screen freezes every ten or fifteen minutes in FF. Not something in the O/S, other applications kept on running fine. Frustrating, but was just putting up with it. Were you seeing those?

The 52.9.0 download which was ostensibly to fix the Add-ons problem also fixed the screen freezing.

I'm carefully cloning my current hard drive to my other machines, and setting a couple of cloned drives aside as spares. Dunno if I could ever build up a load from scratch that would work. Two is one, one is none.
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2019, 11:36 PM
Central Scrutinizer's Avatar
Central Scrutinizer Central Scrutinizer is offline
Wer sind da Gehirnpolizei
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 2,264
Thanked 2,229 Times in 1,203 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Old Coach View Post
About six months ago I started getting short (10-15 seconds) screen freezes every ten or fifteen minutes in FF. Not something in the O/S, other applications kept on running fine. Frustrating, but was just putting up with it. Were you seeing those?



The 52.9.0 download which was ostensibly to fix the Add-ons problem also fixed the screen freezing.



I'm carefully cloning my current hard drive to my other machines, and setting a couple of cloned drives aside as spares. Dunno if I could ever build up a load from scratch that would work. Two is one, one is none.
I get freezes all the time with 52.9.0. Sometimes plugincontainer.exe is running and killing it seems to work, sometimes. Mainly I have to kill Firefox and restart it.

It's a shame that WInXp is dead. I am going to have to give it up and probably suffer from incompatibility with other legacy software. The US Navy is supposedly the longest holdout on WInXp. Or maybe it's just us now.

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2019, 12:23 AM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is online now
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 7,810
Thanks: 2,274
Thanked 16,177 Times in 5,499 Posts
Default

I think I've read somewhere that the vast majority of ATMs and point-of-sale credit card processors are running XP. That may be changing with the point-of-sale readers going over to these chipped cards. But I have yet to see a gas pump that reads the chip, and my local bank's ATM still reads the stripe.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to The Old Coach For This Useful Post:
Old 05-30-2019, 09:08 PM
Watchingtheweasels's Avatar
Watchingtheweasels Watchingtheweasels is offline
Survivor
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7,365
Thanks: 7,566
Thanked 15,719 Times in 4,926 Posts
Default

If you need an XP machine for dedicated legacy software, that's fine...you should just make sure that you don't connect it to the internet or browse/download anything on it.
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019, 11:15 PM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is online now
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 7,810
Thanks: 2,274
Thanked 16,177 Times in 5,499 Posts
Default

Been doing it pretty much 24/7/365 since Apil 2009.! My machine should be a forest of malware, sez you, but it's not.

Good hygiene mainly; don't do games, don't do music, don't do porn, rarely ever do Utoob, don't open clickbait, don't open unknown emails, (email domain is a very secure paid subscription service), don't use WiFi, needless to say no iGadgets, do run McAfee, do run No-Script in default mode BLOCK, (I only whitelist Amazon, Walmart, and a very few others), do run Privacy Badger, und-und-und.

Last time I caught any malware on any personal machine was about 2006/7 when I was on the company VPN for work every day.

Interesting factoid: My ISP is HughesNet. I used to get unsolicited pings and port requests a hundred times a day on my old dialup service, but now I don't even look at the firewall log anymore. It's one continuous blank. I also like that if you query my IP address it comes up as someplace in central Kansas.
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-31-2019, 10:26 AM
America's Patriot's Avatar
America's Patriot America's Patriot is offline
LEGAL citizen
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 14,630
Thanks: 2,804
Thanked 28,815 Times in 9,491 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watchingtheweasels View Post
If you need an XP machine for dedicated legacy software, that's fine...you should just make sure that you don't connect it to the internet or browse/download anything on it.

Make a bootable thumb drive with XP on it. There is a minimum install out there that would be great for this. Just boot up to the XP drive and browse away. Lock it down so nothing can write to the OS.
Quick reply to this message
Old 05-31-2019, 01:01 PM
The Old Coach The Old Coach is online now
Militant Normal
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Western West Virginia
Posts: 7,810
Thanks: 2,274
Thanked 16,177 Times in 5,499 Posts
Default

Y'all gotta understand that at my age I will be double-damned to Hell before I'll go through the exercise of learning yet another operating system which is chockablock full of features that I don't even want, much less need.
Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to The Old Coach For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks



Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Survivalist Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Gender
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © Kevin Felts 2006 - 2015,
Green theme by http://www.themesbydesign.net