Using startpage - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Notices

The Tech Zone Discussion on computers, software and games.

Advertise Here
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Senate votes to allow ISPs to sell your internet browsing history Mosinka General Discussion 43 04-01-2017 12:19 PM

Old 01-05-2019, 08:49 AM
Hiker

Default Using startpage

Advertise Here

I have been using startpage as my search engine for a couple of months. i was told that simply by using that instead of google.com I would be surfing anonymously. Is that true? or do I have to do something else?
Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2019, 09:21 AM
No Longer Rambling

Thanked 8,298 Times in 1,986 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by pengyou View Post
I have been using startpage as my search engine for a couple of months. i was told that simply by using that instead of google.com I would be surfing anonymously. Is that true? or do I have to do something else?
Short answer? Not true.

Longer answer? Are you signed into any sites? FB, twitter, google etc... many. many, sites have cookies installed on your computer that allows them to "follow you around the net" like a stalker.

You really want to surf anonymously? Buy a new laptop with cash. Delete the original OS and install Linux. Use a VPN. If you want to make accounts on sites like this, use fake names, fake email addresses, and give all phony information. See the why are so many people born on Jan 1 1970 thread for example
Even with the VPN never log on from your home ip. Some people have vans set up as offices and sit in the parking lots of shopping centers where there are multiple sources of free wifi. Look up "cantenna" on youtube to extend your wifi range. Move to different centers on a random schedule. Clear cookies at least daily.