Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Notices

Advertise Here

Old 12-10-2019, 07:32 AM
Hiker

Location: The original Birmingham, Engand, or as we call it the BLACK COUNTRY
Default do i go for formal training course or self taught

Advertise Here

learning first aid has two sides to the conversation.

Formal training or self taught?

Do I go for formal training course, first aid at work 3 days of practise and a formal certificate at the end of it or do I get the training done cheaper but via another method and learn more or less the same thing but with out the cost and the certificate.

I see that formal i get someone correcting me if its needed but very little else. Self taught can have a load of issues and mistakes unknown in it.

But as I dont need the certificates or paperwork for bussiness or work use, do I really need to bother?

Whats your thoughts on the matter?
Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2019, 04:12 PM
Survivor

Thanked 63,986 Times in 20,433 Posts

Depends on the type of learner you are.
If you learn well from reading and are OC enough to research till your sure you wouldn't be asking this on a forum.

So take the class.

I've taken the EMT class 2x, Combat aidsman, First aid for the professional rescuer, and a bunch of others, and worked on people in an ambulance, and in ditches both here in the states and in Iraq under fire.

ETA:
If you have the time, join your local CERT or vol FD and get free training and practice. Training is just the START.
The Following User Says Thank You to Nomad, 2nd For This Useful Post:
Old 12-10-2019, 07:31 PM
Survivor

Thanked 16,948 Times in 6,468 Posts

In a formal training environment I usually pick a great deal of knowledge from the anecdotal and informal conversations with the instructors and other students.
And yeah, you don’t want to **** up an assessment for lack of critique or feedback.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-10-2019, 08:11 PM
Survivor