Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Notices

Advertise Here
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Communication Complete Newbie- where to start? happypreppermom Communications 26 06-12-2017 07:26 AM

Old 11-20-2016, 03:14 AM

Default Recommendations MURS/GMRS handheld and vehicle

Advertise Here

Hello all, long time lurker finally posting...

First, I have researched and researched just looking for specific things. I am not an expert on radio communications outside of the military.

I'm looking for handheld radios, vehicle station, and possibly a home base station that will run MURS/GMRS (yes I will get the license). I do not wish to become a HAM operator and I may get a CB for the vehicle as well but will probably never transmit on it.

The handhelds need to be generally rugged and at least water resistant. I don't want to spend an arm and leg on handhelds but I will spend more for vehicle mount.

Upgraded portions of the handhelds is probably going to happen either way (antennas, batteries, etc.), so that is far game in the price.

These radios will be utilized for SHTF scenarios and well as training for the family or if some natural disaster happens and cell towers are maxed out (I've had this happen a few times). They will also be utilized for hunting, camping, etc.

Any and all recommendations please and thank you in advanced.
Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TurboMech For This Useful Post:
Old 11-20-2016, 07:20 AM
Prepared

That's info I would like to hear about too
The Following User Says Thank You to Milamber For This Useful Post:
Old 11-20-2016, 08:31 AM
Hunter

Thanked 1,284 Times in 603 Posts

ok, for starter MURS operates on VHF, GMRS is UHF, I'll give you some info on GMRS. First unless you only need a mile or two range ,forget about the bubble pack radios sold at Academy, Bass Pro etc.