Survivalist Forum banner

Making the Most of the �Little Gun�

13K views 27 replies 19 participants last post by  Ridge138 
#1 ·
Making the Most of the “Little Gun”

I have lots of experience with the .410.

While I carry one for woods walking and to shoot garden varmints, my 12-ga. Winchester Model 12 riot gun is the "go to" gun for things which go bump in the night. So, If you intend to own ONLY ONE shotgun, get a 12-ga. pump. Reduced recoil law enforcement loads are viable if females and youngsters must use the same gun. Their recoil compares to a 20-ga. load.

The .410 slugs are accurate in some guns, but you can determine that only by testing. I found them mostly ineffective on game larger than foxes, at ranges beyond about 30 yards.

Grouping of shotgun slugs from a plain, bead-sighted single-barrel shotgun at best is 1 inch spread per ten yards of range. AND your gun may not hit where it looks, so you must test and practice. You could spend $25 in ammo just to find out that it doesn't work for you...

A .410 slug weighs about 80 grains. While initial velocity is high, it loses half its striking energy in the first 50 yards, where its energy compares to a .25-20 rifle firing black powder loads. Certainly no bear gun!

Better than .410 slugs for larger varmints or home defense are the 3-inch five-pellet 00 buckshot loads now popular for home defense and widely available. In most .410s they are much better than slugs and are the best choice. They put the same number of pellets on a silhouette target at 25 yards that a cylinder bore 12-ga. riot gun firing 9-pellet 00 buck does at 40.
You can expect 4 out of 5 pellets striking an Army "E" silhouette at 25 yards, which is a killing pattern. At 40 yards the .410 gets at best 3 hits out of 5, which is barely adequate, if one more more pellets happen to hit a vital area.