Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Firearms and Other Weapons Forum > Firearms General Discussion > Rifle Forum
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 02-26-2010, 07:11 PM

Default .223 vs .308

Advertise Here

I am a student and i go to school in LA...ive been a prepper for awhile and am looking into my main rifle.
Now i have to decide, .308 vs .223?
I have read Boston's Gun Bible and many other such books and all highly recommend .308 for obvious reasons BUT...
im skinny and light (not all the muscular) so carrying such a rifle would get extremely tiring paired with the extra weight of the ammo
also my right shoulder has had severe damage done to it so shooting .308 could be slightly painful

so based on that should i just suck it up and get an FAL or a M1A
or go for a AR15 or something of the like
Old 02-26-2010, 07:16 PM

.308 is a mil spec round just as the .223. the .308 is a 7.62x51 and is the round they shoot out of an m60 maching gun,. ammo is cheep and pleantyfull (not that the .223 is not) and the effective range is a about 300yards further. The M1 will shoot dirty, the AR will not. Grab the .308 and if you still want something light and easy to cary grab a Ruger 10-22. Super cheap, super light, easy to find ammo. Lots of conversion kits for the DIY guys too.

Just me thoughts...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to guarddog_50 For This Useful Post:
Old 02-26-2010, 07:52 PM

Your physical size isn’t that important when carrying heavy loads (like lots of ammo), look at the Sherpa’s in Nepal, they are all little guys that climb Mount Everest a few times a year with tons of gear on their backs. Its all about fitness, not bulging muscles.

When I was in Iraq I carried 12 7.62x51mm FAL mags with no problems and I am not a big guy, just in good shape

I would go with the 308, from what I have seen it is better at taking someone down than a 223

~James G