Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Disaster Preparedness General Discussion
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Disaster Preparedness General Discussion Anything Disaster Preparedness or Survival Related

Advertise Here

Old 02-25-2010, 11:03 AM
Preparing for tomorrow

Default Wise, Mountain House or something else??

Advertise Here

I am new to the concept of amassing a year or more of food storage. We started with putting together three months of our most used foods. I am ready to move to the larger picture and would appreciate some advice.

Iíve looked around at my options and appreciate the simplicity and ease of at least 6 to 9 months of freeze dried and dehydrated foods. As I look at the companies that supply them, Mountain House, Wise, Alpine Aire, etc. The question comes upÖ Which brand is better tasting? Which has the best cost for large quantities? (ie. three month supply) Which has the best variety and so forth?

Who out there is using freeze dried as part of their storage and what are you doing? All thoughts would be appreciated.
Old 02-25-2010, 11:18 AM
On the lake

I get most of my food storage from Emergency Essentials. They have dehydrated, freeze-dried, Mountain House, etc. Lots of options. I like their powdered milk better than all the other brands I have tried.

We have some stuff stored for longer storage (mostly the freeze-dried) and rotate everything else. We use it in everyday cooking and our kids eat most of it. They like to get the cans and help cook. Now if we could get them to help clean up a little better...
The Following User Says Thank You to DocG For This Useful Post:
Old 02-25-2010, 11:37 AM
Hunter

Thanked 2,033 Times in 798 Posts

Watch for the 25% off with free shipping sales on Mountain House, every couple of months some vendor has the sale.
The Following User Says Thank You to ozarkeagle For This Useful Post: