Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Urban Survival > Communications
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 12-16-2009, 01:09 PM
population control

Default QRP?

Advertise Here

So I am new to the radio stuff and have been researching QRP but aside from it being small and using low voltage I know nothing about it. What are the advantages of this system? Can it broadcast stuff aside from morse code? Is this some thing that would be of use in prepping? Any info you guys can provide is of great appreciation. Thanks.

Last edited by tag187; 12-16-2009 at 02:21 PM..
Old 12-16-2009, 04:41 PM

Advantages would be smaller and portable, can use batteries to power. You can usually build a QRP kit cheaper than buying a new radio.
You can transmit voice, data and CW. A legal CB could be considered QRP.
Any use to prepping I guess is up to you. I have a couple of small solar panels that charge sealed lead acid batteries that I can use to power a few of my QRP radio's when power goes out or for added points during contests.

Links to some of the kits I have put together.

http://www.smallwonderlabs.com/ The PSK 80 and 20

http://www.qrpkits.com/bitx20a.html The Bitx20 SSB
Old 01-28-2010, 05:23 AM

The advantages is of course Size and Cost. However, unless you have been working with radios for years and really have a strong grasp of what they can and can not do, stay away from QRP at an entry level.

QRP can be days of calling CQ with no contact. Lots of time spent and very little or nothing to show for it. Do not misunderstand me, it can be a fun and rewarding hobby, but not something that you would depend on for survival.