Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Wilderness Survival, Hiking and Camping Forum
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 04-09-2009, 07:04 AM
Anarchy: the way to be

Default Saddle bags for dogs

Advertise Here

I am still pretty new to this, and I am working on my BOB (workable now, but I could use a few more things) and I realized tonight that I didn't pack any supplies for Gabriella my dog. I checked out the internet for a good set of saddle bags for her so that she can carry her own supplies (and so I won't be weighed down if say she doesn't bug out with me) but I can't really tell if any are of good enough quality. Does anyone have any experiance with saddle bags that could recommend ones to check out or avoid?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to anarcholance For This Useful Post:
Old 04-09-2009, 07:25 AM
+ULFBER+T

We used a saddleback for one of our dogs so he could carry his own food. It was several years ago and I'm not sure what brand it was. I can tell you to be careful that you saddle him/her up correctly so the weight is located properly... I would also keep the pack as light as possible. The bag itself should come with guidelines on how to mount it. Good luck.
Old 04-09-2009, 07:31 AM

You left out a few pieces of information on Gabriel. first off is Gabriel a working breed? If so, how large is Gabriel. Also do you have the necessary first aid Items for Gabriel? And how old is Gabriel.

A very large dog IE 80 to 100 lbs should not have more than 30 lbs of weight. And less would be much better.

You had better be adding some "Tuf Foot" into your supplies or booties. You carry mole skin for your feet, and the dogs feet need the same care and concern as humans. Remember dogs have soft pads not hooves. They get cut, bruised and worn.