Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Firearms and Other Weapons Forum > Firearms General Discussion > Pistol and Revolver Forum
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 01-11-2009, 09:39 PM

Default Is a .380 good for self defense?

Advertise Here

I am thinking of getting a .380 to practice shooting and also to carry. I have not heard much about this caliber and I am fairly new to pistals and the ammo. I thought it was a .38 special but I guess the ammo is different? I do alot of hunting with shotguns mainly but pistals are a new area for me. Is the ammo fairly cheap compared to other calibers? Any tips are welcomed. thanks
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to soup For This Useful Post:
Old 01-11-2009, 09:51 PM
Recent Blog:
Survivor

Thanked 11,620 Times in 4,187 Posts

Not powerful enough
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to Nomad, 2nd For This Useful Post:
Old 01-11-2009, 09:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by soup View Post
I am thinking of getting a .380 to practice shooting and also to carry. I have not heard much about this caliber and I am fairly new to pistals and the ammo. I thought it was a .38 special but I guess the ammo is different? I do alot of hunting with shotguns mainly but pistols are a new area for me. Is the ammo fairly cheap compared to other calibers? Any tips are welcomed. thanks
if it were me, and it is as im also in the market for a pistol. though mine will be used for daily carry. i plan on buying a 9mm. ammunition is much less expensive that .380, and as i dont have a whole lot to throw around that is important to me. also its in plentiful supply everywhere.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Charlie Brown For This Useful Post:
Old 01-11-2009, 09:58 PM
Survivor

Thanked 3,099 Times in 1,680 Posts

Quote: