Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Disaster Preparedness General Discussion
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Disaster Preparedness General Discussion Anything Disaster Preparedness or Survival Related

Advertise Here

Old 11-20-2008, 12:17 PM

Default Flour storage?

Advertise Here

Hi All,
Just got back from my Wally World prep run. My question is : What is the best way to store all-purpose bleached flour, while in the original packaging? Can it be refrigerated or will it be ruined that way? What options do I have?
Thanx in advance,
Old 11-20-2008, 12:27 PM

I'm no expert, but anything airtight and put in a cool, dry place away from critters should be good. If you are really set on original packaging (I'm assuming the small, 1-5 lb bags here) you could seal them in large, heavy-duty trash bags and then drop those in one of those big tupperware bins. As far as refrigeration: if you want to use up that much food storage real estate on flour instead of more perishable items you probably could. A 'fridge is a good place to store pretty much anything, even with no power as they are airtight and have good insulation.

Just my non-experienced ideas, feel free to cure my ignorance!
The Following User Says Thank You to Hallofo For This Useful Post:
Old 11-20-2008, 12:31 PM
Vote 3rd party!

I used 5 gallon pails with mylar bags (sealed) - Oxygen absorbers and desiccant. O2 absorbers will help with any infestation
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to skud For This Useful Post:
Old 11-20-2008, 01:09 PM
audentes fortuna iuvat

Thanked 1,010 Times in 384 Posts

I think you can freeze it as well to preserve it for a longer period.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Thedishdoc For This Useful Post:
Old 11-20-2008, 01:13 PM
THE SHOOTER

Default Flour