Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Firearms and Other Weapons Forum > Firearms General Discussion
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Firearms General Discussion Rifles, pistols, shotguns, scopes, grips and everything in between.

Advertise Here

Old 03-14-2013, 04:38 PM

Default Cci 400 small rifle primers for .223

Advertise Here

I've been researching reloading for about the last 8 months but haven't taken the plunge yet due to unavailability of components of late. Today at the LGS, they had CCI 400 small rifle primers in stock. I picked up 4000 of them (max LGS would allow per customer), even though I haven't yet bought a press or dies, just because they were available. While it's my understanding that the CCI 41 is preferred, from a cursory search on the web it sounds like many have had good luck using the CCI 400 on .223 loads. I'd load it on 55gr bullet with 25 gr of H335. I'm aware some say there's a chance of pierced primers due to it being thinner but this seems to be perpetrated by those who've never actually loaded with it. Does anyone in the SB community have any input or did I just waste $140?
The Following User Says Thank You to Aaron_Breakspeare For This Useful Post:
Old 03-14-2013, 05:20 PM
Recent Blog:
I told you so!

Thanked 2,510 Times in 1,332 Posts

The primers are the right ones for .223 the H335 powder at 25 grains is just about max, I don't think I would go that high starting off, work up to it, check for pressure signs. JT
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wasniper For This Useful Post:
Old 03-14-2013, 05:49 PM

OK thanks. Yes, it would be a good idea for me to work my way up to 25gr, that is my intended max. So are the magnum primers just overkill then for non-NATO loads? I hear everyone talking about the 41's as if they are the gold standard.
Old 03-14-2013, 06:32 PM
Recent Blog:
No fuel like an old fuel