Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Disaster Preparedness General Discussion
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Disaster Preparedness General Discussion Anything Disaster Preparedness or Survival Related

Advertise Here

Old 02-21-2013, 08:56 PM

Default Fireplace Insert vs. Stove / Wood vs. Pellets

Advertise Here

I'm not experienced with alternative heating and need help with a couple of important decisions.

I have a two-story home with a basement. The two stories (not counting the basement) is 2300 sq.ft. I have a newer, high-efficiency furnace that isn't getting the job done due to my duct work. I've had multiple HVAC people look at and they all say I'm stuck with the situation. So I'm looking for an alternative that doesn't involve my current duct work.

My house is rectangular. I have a den on the first floor that has a functional wood-burning fireplace. It's at the opposite side of the house from my living room where I spend most of my time. The coldest room in the house is my bedroom on the 2nd floor, directly above the living room.

I'm considering either adding a fireplace insert in the den or installing a stove in the living room. Problems I see with the insert are that it is more expensive than a stove (correct me if I'm wrong on any of these points), puts out less BTUs, and is on the wrong side of the house. If I went with a stove in the living room, I could have a vent cut through the ceiling to allow warm air to flow directly up to my bedroom above it. So I'm leaning toward going with the stove. I need someone to critique this plan. What kinds of costs and "surprises" might I be missing? Would an insert with a good blower get the job done just as well?