Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Firearms and Other Weapons Forum > Firearms General Discussion > Rifle Forum
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 07-11-2012, 04:05 PM

Default Considering Ruger Mini 30

Advertise Here

Before I begin, I will mention that I'm a California resident.
Last year I bought a Ruger SA revolver in .41 mag caliber and after owning it for a while I decided that there were some issues and I sent the gun back to the factory for warrany work.
It was determined that the gun was defective and they offered to replace it because the defects were not repairable.
Well, because my revolver was a distributor exclusive and is no longer in production that means that it is no longer on the CA approved list for transfer in this state. So therefore I cannot legally replace the revolver with the identical model, and Ruger has offered to replace my defective gun with the gun of my choice including rifles. It just needs to be a Ruger.
I am leaning toward the mini 30.
I'll mention as well that I reload and reloadability of a cartridge weighs heavily on my final decision.
I'd like to hear what sort of stories shooters have to share about feeding issues of reload ammo with hunting bullets, or cast bullets with the Mini 30 rifle.

I'm also considering the Mini 14

Thanks for any opinions and sharing your real world experiences

BK
The Following User Says Thank You to beekay For This Useful Post:
Old 07-11-2012, 04:25 PM
Hiker

Are they willing to give you any gun? I'd ask for a Ruger SR-556.

http://www.ruger.com/products/sr556/index.html
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Plagued707 For This Useful Post:
Old 07-11-2012, 07:21 PM
Hunter

Thanked 1,041 Times in 616 Posts

There is a new model mini 30 tactical. It has a heavier, shorter, barrel. The company is now selling ruger brand 20 round magazines for that rifle. It just might be what you are asking for.