Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > General Discussion Section > The Tech Zone
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files



The Tech Zone Discussion on computers, software and games.

Advertise Here
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2012, 10:47 AM
TomArnold TomArnold is online now
One day at a time ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 456
Thanks: 612
Thanked 478 Times in 227 Posts
Default Cisco / Linksys E2700, E3500, E4500 router users privacy alert



Advertise Here

Hi all,

It's been recently discovered than an automatic update to the firmware of Cisco / Linksys E2700, E3500, and E4500 routers have some serious concerns.

After this automatic update happens, users will be asked to login / register their device with Cisco's Connect Cloud. If you do not to this, access to advanced options on your router will be lost.

The main concern is with the license / privacy statements. This gives Cisco the right to peek at your Internet traffic and if they see pornographic or other objectionable material, they can remotely disable your router, cutting off your Internet access.

Since the brouhaha started, Cisco has removed some of the parts from the license, but Cisco reserves the right to automatically update the agreement at any time without notice or penalty. Your use of the device constitutes acceptance of the agreement.

I'm cross posting this here and in the computer section in case users of these devices don't check there.

Here's a link to an article about this. There's others, like Engadget, if you want to look around for more info.

http://www.extremetech.com/computing...r-discretion/1
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TomArnold For This Useful Post:
Old 07-03-2012, 11:10 AM
unseenone's Avatar
unseenone unseenone is offline
Hiker
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 612
Thanks: 3,777
Thanked 1,831 Times in 450 Posts
Default

Good information. Every piece of electronics equipment of this type is completely accessible to the government in real time already. All decryption keys are required to be on hand or provided to the government. When they can't, they have a problem, remember the big todo about the blackberry messaging system not long ago. It went something like "provide us with decryption capabilities or we will shut it down".

If you want that much privacy, throw out your cell phones, wired phones, tv's internet, computers and don't walk under a "traffic" camera, or any other camera.
Old 07-03-2012, 11:45 AM
TomArnold TomArnold is online now
One day at a time ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 456
Thanks: 612
Thanked 478 Times in 227 Posts
Default

Actually, the Blackberry issue was in other countries. Technically (although perhaps not practically?) The government here still is supposed to jump through some hoops to get the information. The problem here is you're explicitly giving Cisco permission to look at your traffic and to act on that traffic without warning or notice to the user. The agreement completely lets Cisco off the hook - you have given up your right to privacy if you sign into this service.
The Following User Says Thank You to TomArnold For This Useful Post:
Old 07-03-2012, 12:51 PM
Dutchprep's Avatar
Dutchprep Dutchprep is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 213
Thanks: 52
Thanked 104 Times in 61 Posts
Default

Just install DD-WRT... it's a much better firmware. You can turn it into a lot of things, repeaters, printerservers, small webservers etc.
The Following User Says Thank You to Dutchprep For This Useful Post:
Old 07-03-2012, 02:29 PM
Ashcons's Avatar
Ashcons Ashcons is offline
Mr. Irreverent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Far from ebola
Age: 33
Posts: 294
Thanks: 413
Thanked 350 Times in 167 Posts
Default

Run open-source firmware like DD-WRT or TomatoUSB on a compatible router ($25 - $100). They both offer flexibility to enable features you would find on a much more expensive enterprise router. QOS on the Toastman TomatoUSB mod is fantastic if you have bandwidth hogs on the house (like Netflix).

You can even buy routers with DD-WRT pre-installed (I think Buffalo and Netgear are offering this option).
Old 07-03-2012, 03:26 PM
TomArnold TomArnold is online now
One day at a time ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 456
Thanks: 612
Thanked 478 Times in 227 Posts
Default

The issue is that these routers aren't compatible with DD-WRT so that's not an option for those that own them. They're not 54G based.
Old 07-03-2012, 03:40 PM
PSYOP Soldier's Avatar
PSYOP Soldier PSYOP Soldier is offline
Lux in Tenebris
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 4,544
Thanks: 4,371
Thanked 6,146 Times in 2,413 Posts
Default

Yeah, but you can get a linksys wrt 54g pretty easily from:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...989&CatId=2667

for 70.00...
Old 07-03-2012, 03:42 PM
PSYOP Soldier's Avatar
PSYOP Soldier PSYOP Soldier is offline
Lux in Tenebris
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 4,544
Thanks: 4,371
Thanked 6,146 Times in 2,413 Posts
Default

also, most end users will not know this aspect, or care....i know, cause this is what i do for my day gig...they will just go to bbuy/rshack/et al, and buy whatever, and install it....
Old 07-04-2012, 03:52 AM
Dutchprep's Avatar
Dutchprep Dutchprep is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 213
Thanks: 52
Thanked 104 Times in 61 Posts
Default

We boost our Wifi Signal with DD-WRT. Instead of the default 70mW TX power, I now run 200mW... hehehe
The Following User Says Thank You to Dutchprep For This Useful Post:
Reply

Bookmarks



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert if you use WPS pin on your router valhalarising The Tech Zone 0 12-29-2011 03:29 PM
Borders, Cisco Cutting as Many Jobs as the Economy Added in June gettingthere51 Financial Forum 9 07-21-2011 09:49 AM
Router Table TexasHomesteader DIY - Do It Yourself 9 05-06-2011 02:33 PM
Using computer as a router. gohammergo The Tech Zone 2 12-16-2010 11:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Kevin Felts 2006 - 2012,
Green theme by http://www.themesbydesign.net