Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Firearms and Other Weapons Forum > Primitive Weapons, Bows and Crossbows
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 03-22-2012, 07:45 PM

Question Best Bow and Arrows for SHTF

Advertise Here

Hi everyone, new to the forum. First thread, just was looking through the forum and some questions popped up.

I am wanting to have archery as another skill/tool. Thing is, I have no knowledge on bows. I have done some research, but not finding what I am looking for.
What's the best bow to get? Recurve, Longbow or Composite?
I prefer a medium to longer range bow (no idea on bow ranges, but want at closest, target 35 ft. away). NO compound bow or crossbow for me.
Want one most reliable/durable in dirty, wet enviroments. Also most practical as far as size to carry and manuver through the woods.
What's the best material for the bow to be made out of?
Best material for bow string?
What pound draw? I hear 45 lb. and up will kill most game. What lb. draw could kill a adult bear?
Best material for arrow shafts? Best head to use? Fletchings?
Best price to quality?
What make and model bow do you recommend?
Where do you recommend purchasing for best price?
Any replacement parts worth getting just in case?
And if you know, what do you think the effective range would be in the hands of a little-better-than average archer?

Just want to know for a good set-up. Please, no "beginner bows," let me know what affordable bow a experienced archer would use. Of course I will have back-up skills, such as how to make a "bush" bow and also make traps.
The Following User Says Thank You to OneGuerrilla For This Useful Post:
Old 03-22-2012, 08:15 PM
Crusty, Crunchy and Cute

Thanked 5,335 Times in 1,870 Posts