Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Wilderness Survival, Hiking and Camping Forum
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 02-02-2012, 01:05 PM

Default Scorpion venom. Non-Lethal?

Advertise Here

I'm heading out to Trona, California for camping. Is it true that scorpions, that are native to the U.S., are non-lethal?
Old 02-02-2012, 01:14 PM
Prepared

i am not an expert, I have heard it is like a bee or wasp sting. As long as you do not have an allergic reaction, it should be non lethal. Someone will correct if I am wrong.
Old 02-02-2012, 01:17 PM
Nadafinga!!

Thanked 4,309 Times in 1,534 Posts

Painful but not lethal unless you are alergic.
Old 02-02-2012, 01:45 PM
VIP Member

Thanked 7,312 Times in 2,023 Posts

I've had two that I know of. Granted they were just little woods scorpions here in Georgia, but other than hurt like heck, no big deal.
Old 02-02-2012, 01:47 PM

Trona mutant ville I used to deliver pallets to that mineral plant down there. and whats the deal with all the military out there. Very much like a bee sting
Old 02-02-2012, 02:50 PM

Thanks guys. I've been stung by wasps and bees, so I'm pretty sure I'm okay.
Old 02-02-2012, 03:16 PM
Beginner's Mind

Thanked 2,880 Times in 996 Posts

Same here, just like a wasp sting.
The Following User Says Thank You to jungatheart For This Useful Post:
Old 02-02-2012, 03:45 PM

Bark Scorpions can be pretty bad! I'm not entirely sure if they have them in Cali, but you might want to check up on that or at least be able to identify them.

decent bit on scorpions: http://www.scorpsweep.com/facts.html
The Following User Says Thank You to Colin For This Useful Post:
Old 02-02-2012, 03:47 PM
Renaissance Man

Thanked 4,498 Times in 1,741 Posts

Just check your shoes if you leave them out! That's a crappy way to wake up in the morning...

Az