Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Food and water
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Food and water Discussion on food and water storage, water purification and related topics.

Advertise Here

Old 08-31-2011, 03:34 PM

Default Asking input from experienced mylar bag packers and users

Advertise Here

I have been prepping for a few years now, but it took a much more serious turn this year with the addition of freeze dried and dehydrated items, mostly in #10 cans. Also have added some other non-food supplies to my prep items such as medical supplies.

Now I have a decent supply of rice, beans, sugar, salt and so on, but all of it is still in the original bags. I want to move this to mylar bags in buckets for ease of storage and perhaps to prolong the quality of the stored items.

My question is, (and I am asking input from those who store goods in mylar and have used from that storage) when storing beans or rice (and sugar and salt) in mylar and then into 5 gallon buckets, is it better to use just one 5 gallon mylar bag to fill with rice (or other product) or to use smaller, say 1/2 gallon or 1 gallon bags of mylar to store the items in. It is only me and my wife and possibly a couple of grown kids and spouses to care for.