Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Food and water
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Food and water Discussion on food and water storage, water purification and related topics.

Advertise Here

Old 08-04-2011, 11:16 AM

Default How to salt cure meat?

Advertise Here

Well I searched around on the internet and I mostly found alot of stuff about smoking , and stuff about brines. I am very new to all this survivalist stuff so I was looking for a dumbed down version. From what I gather it Takes Salt, potassium Nitrate, and Sugar. I could be very wrong on those ingredients though. Can anyone break it down to me dummy style? Thanks for the help!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wigglesdabum For This Useful Post:
Old 08-04-2011, 12:50 PM
Survivor

Thanked 5,844 Times in 2,472 Posts

Jerky is the easiest.

Last week my youngest and I sliced meat thinly, and soaked the meat for an hour in soy sauce and honey and pepper, then we put it in a dehydrator. It is really very good. In the days before dehydrators they would have hung meat in a smoky fire to keep the flies off, and that would have made it taste better as well. Jerky with a smoky flavor is excellent!

I have also salted pork, but I did it in the fridge as I was worried about spoilage. I made it with a book in one hand. I believe a cure of 50% honey and 50% salt is best.

After it had brined a couple of days, I rinsed it and I put it in an outdoor grill with a lid. I started a fire in a smallish aluminum bowl, dumped soaked wood chips on top, and I closed the lid. I did this twice. Then I cooked the meat and served it.

It was delicious.

Some thoughts: I sliced the meat before I rubbed it with salt and honey: if it had been in one piece it would have taked longer to brine and to smoke. Lean meat tastes more like ham and fat meat tastes more like bacon.