Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Firearms and Other Weapons Forum > Firearms General Discussion > Pistol and Revolver Forum
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 06-11-2011, 08:29 PM
Firmus Ixion

Thanked 2,692 Times in 1,260 Posts
Awards Showcase
Outstanding Thread 
Total Awards: 1
Talking Just bought an RIA 1911 5", Advice needed on upgrades.

Advertise Here

I just purchased an RIA 5" GI model, first off I love it, great gun so far. However I would like to put a Beaver tail, the proper hammer for that grip safety, and possibly a skeleton (upgraded trigger).

I'm new to smithing and the 1911 platform, so something drop in would be great, but I also understand that a true drop in may look gaudy.

Looking for some myth busting here and some sound advice, and pictures of other RIA's that have been upgraded.

Thanks!
Old 06-11-2011, 10:10 PM
Firmus Ixion

Thanked 2,692 Times in 1,260 Posts
Awards Showcase
Outstanding Thread 
Total Awards: 1

Pics of course

Old 06-12-2011, 02:04 AM

I like my hogue wrap around rubber grips. It takes away from the classic look, but it feels damn good when you shoot. It really makes it feel like the gun is supposed to be in your hand more than anything else. I don't have the biggest hands, so because of the extra girth of the grips, I threw on an extended mag release. Both of these are simple to change and shouldn't take you more than 10 minutes to install combined. The bottom line is that your gun should be personalized for your wants and needs. I know everybody says that, but it really is true.
The Following User Says Thank You to cartertr For This Useful Post:
Old 06-12-2011, 09:52 AM
Bite 'em back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWZ-Ben View Post