Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > General Discussion Section > General Discussion
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

General Discussion Anything non-survival related - news and information, current events, general chit-chat stuff.

Advertise Here

Old 06-05-2011, 11:05 PM
Prepped and Done!

Thanked 4,068 Times in 1,583 Posts
Default Synthetic oil for high mileage vehicles?

Advertise Here

I've been using synthetic oil in my passenger cars for about 2 years now.
I've notice a slight bump in gas mileage.

I'd love to start using it in my truck (114k) because at these prices, I really need a bump in gas mileage.

I remember reading, however, that synthetic oil will cause leaks in older vehicles. Not sure if it had to do with gaskets used in chronologically older vehicles or the idea that it will loosen up leak-sealing sludge.

Any truth to this?
Should I feel comfortable using it, or am I asking for another Exxon Valdez?
Old 06-05-2011, 11:07 PM
I love this forum

Thanked 7,285 Times in 3,149 Posts

Old 06-05-2011, 11:08 PM
Hunter

I am not 100% on this, but I think it will loosen up the sludge. Once you do go synthetic you can't go back is another rumor I have heard. I do use it in my vehicles thow.
The Following User Says Thank You to oldcamper For This Useful Post:
Old 06-05-2011, 11:18 PM
Fine ham ABOUNDS!!!!!!!!

Thanked 38,652 Times in 12,987 Posts

All oil can be used with any other oil. Before during or after syn, blend, dino-doesn't matter. @ 114k you may notice a leak or 2 you never had before as it will find its way through where reg. dino could not.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to POPPALUV For This Useful Post:
Old 06-06-2011, 12:19 AM