Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Disaster Preparedness General Discussion
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Disaster Preparedness General Discussion Anything Disaster Preparedness or Survival Related

Advertise Here

Old 04-12-2011, 10:12 AM
Prepared

Default Family SHTF training

Advertise Here

As a newbie I am culling all the information I can to best start prepping. My question is for my family members i.e. wife and kids. I am in thte millitary and have extensive knowledge in weapons and area/site security. Outside of gear and rations prepping, what would be the logical skills training that should/can be accomplished first? My plans are taking the wife and oldest daughter to the gun range regularly to get the weapons training first. I also thought that camping as rough as I can get my wife to buy off on would be a great start. I have 2 young boys (4,3) and not sure what I should do as far as skills training. Planning on Cub/Boy scouts as soon as I can get them into it. What say all of you?
Old 04-12-2011, 12:33 PM

Personally, I found cub scouts to be a waste. I started out helping the den leader, became the den leader, then cubmaster. My experience was that I became an advanced babysitter. I was teaching kids to fish so that parents didn't have to. My kids ended up suffering because they had to tolerate a bunch of snot nosed whiners that required too much of my time, taking it from my own children. We still do everything that we would have done in scouts, but we do it as a family unit. It builds on all of our family values, allows us to put a prepper/survivalist slant to it without sheeple interference, allows me to focus on each of my kids fully, and there is a lot less liability compared to taking a busload of kids that have "sue happy" parents out in the woods.