Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Firearms and Other Weapons Forum > Military Weapons Forum
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Military Weapons Forum AR15, AK47, SKS, H&K, Galil, CETME, FN/FAL, Tanks, Ships, Jets, Helicopters....

Advertise Here

Old 03-28-2011, 05:50 AM
Prepared

Exclamation AR-15 problem (bolt catch not catching)

Advertise Here

As the title suggests there's an issue with an AR-15 I recently acquired. When pulling the bolt back and pushing in the bolt catch, it doesn't catch. In fact it would appear that the bolt is about 1-2 mm too long.

This would be my first AR-15 and for the record it was traded in for an old junker of a car a friend needed. It shoots reliably and the mag has to be punched in (seems like a tight fit) but there's not much of a concern there.

I've pulled some info from the web and can't find anything about it to help. Bit of a rifle noob here. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 03-28-2011, 05:57 AM
I love this forum

Thanked 2,649 Times in 1,401 Posts

What brand of rifle is it? Bill T.
Old 03-28-2011, 06:52 AM

Put an empty mag in the rifle, pull back the charging handle. If the catch does not work with an empty mag, I suspect the part of the catch that stops the bolt is broken off. The main cause of this is dry firing without the bolt and carrier in place.
If this is the problem, the fix is fairly cheap and simple. A new catch is less than $10, if you like tactical mods now would be the time to get an ambi-latch or large button style.
The Following User Says Thank You to Tank56 For This Useful Post:
Old 03-28-2011, 07:18 AM