Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Farming, Gardening & Homesteading
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Farming, Gardening & Homesteading Country lifestyle, homesteading and living off the grid.

Advertise Here

Old 02-12-2011, 10:23 AM

Default Shelf life of home canned goods

Advertise Here

Hey guys, looking at buying my first pressure canner, and learning how to can. My question is, what is the average shelf life of properly canned food? I will most likely be doing fresh veggies, various stews, and fruit/jam.. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

To be honest, I am torn between a dehydrator or a pressure canner.. I am new to both. I have read dehydrated foods have a long shelf life. I have tried to search but can't seem to come up with a solid answer for home canned goods.
Old 02-12-2011, 04:50 PM
I Dig the Dirt

It's really hard to find an accurate answer on this. About the best I've been able to find is that home-canned foods will retain their nutrition for 2-5 years, depending on storage. Some say they will slowly start to lose their nutritional value after that...but...if the lid is still sealed, the product is still safe to eat regardless of how old it is.

I've been canning and dehydrating for a couple of years now. Between the two methods, if I could only choose one, I prefer canning and would purchase a Pressure Canner over a Dehydrator any day. With the exception of the potatoes I've dehydrated (both white and sweet in my Excalibur) I'm not overly impressed with the dehydrated fruits/veggies but love everything I have canned. The dehydrator does have it's place but if I had to do it over and could only purchase one, it would be the canner.

HTH.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JustAPrepper For This Useful Post:
Old 02-12-2011, 06:30 PM
Tell the truth, coward.

Thanked 26,527 Times in 10,506 Posts

Ditto canner.