Survivalist Forum banner

I've had a breakthrough that will help me

5K views 19 replies 19 participants last post by  lanahi 
#1 ·
Looking at what is needed for a family of 5 for 1 year, it looks impossible. Well, I have decided to go one month at a time and store those wares in my 55 gallon drums. I was looking at 10 drums anyway so, if I make it 12, put 1 month worth of wheat, rice, oats, salt, sugar, etc. in each, it makes it more manageable. Instead of trying to focus on getting a year supply of each item, now I can focus on getting one month supply of each. It'll be easier to rotate this way too I think.

Thoughts?

#3 ·
It's always daunting at first! Just make a list and go by the sales, a little at a time. It all adds up. I've been stocking up for five years now and am very happy with my storage, but it pales in comparison to some of the others here. Just remember water! Number one important thing!!

#4 ·
Not a bad approach, especially to avoid feeling overwhelmed by it all, but I have one thought about it: It's going to be much more expensive to buy things in small quantities than in bulk if you do it that way.

I'm working toward a year for 4 people so I'm not that far away from you in terms of magnitude of the problem. I went through the same idea (do I pack complete meals in 5-gallon buckets? Or what? Or not?).

It's clear to me that I can't do that w/o breaking the bank, and without taking far longer to complete than if I buy on sale, in bulk, and with storage in mind. Example: The last time I bought O2 absorbers I bought 100 1500cc absorbers for about $36. I bought 25 bucket-sized mylar bags, and 100 gallon-sized mylar bags. It's far cheaper on a per-unit basis to do this, yet if I were only buying to fill one 55-gallon drum at a time, my per-unit cost would skyrocket.