Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Food and water
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Food and water Discussion on food and water storage, water purification and related topics.

Advertise Here

Old 09-27-2010, 06:31 PM

Default Can I store flour in a mylar bag inside a bucket?

Advertise Here

Maybe that's a dumb question but I asked an ebay seller a question about the size of their mylar bags (to use for flour) and he replied back that you should never store flour (white) in a mylar bag.

I thought you *could* use a mylar bag (w/ O2 absorber). Am I wrong?? This is my first time using the mylar bags and I don't want to mess it up. (And I know that wheat berries are better, but I'm starting w/ what I know for right now).
Old 09-27-2010, 06:36 PM
FO

Thanked 2,232 Times in 987 Posts

You need to store wheat berries, not flour, it's not about how it's stored, it's about how long it will store.
The Following User Says Thank You to 13FoxTrot10 For This Useful Post:
Old 09-27-2010, 07:01 PM
King of Nido

Thanked 1,886 Times in 858 Posts

You can buy all purpose in Superpails and #10's. I'm sure ya can do it yourself, just dont count on it after 5 years.
The Following User Says Thank You to Wombat For This Useful Post:
Old 09-27-2010, 07:07 PM
Capability, not scenarios

Thanked 24,714 Times in 7,471 Posts

Yes, you can--though it's not optimal.

Flour doesn't have a particularly long shelf life. If you're looking for a long shelf life, store wheat berries and grind whole wheat flour as you need it.

You can, if you store wheat berries in Mylar w/ O2 absorbers, and you store it in a cool place, expect to get 30 years or more out of them.

Flour? Not so much. If you are planning on storing flour, plan also to use it and rotate it.

Or, if you're expecting the S to HTF any time soon, then you might well get the necessary shelf life from flour.