Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Survival & Preparedness Forum > Wilderness Survival, Hiking and Camping Forum
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 07-11-2010, 10:36 AM

Question Where to practice bushcraft skills

Advertise Here

Hello, everyone --

I am just wondering what types of places you would recommend for practicing basic bushcraft skills. I am not expecting to find any fellow Minnesotans on here to help, but I am hoping to find places close to home (so I'm not asking for specific place names unless you know of any near the Twin Cities area).

I'm basically self-taught & don't have the cash currently to get to any schools. But I digress...

I ask because practicing these skills can have an adverse impact on the environment & I don't want to destroy anyone's camp experience, much less an entire micro-ecosystems...

Thanks in advance, everyone!

dave
Old 07-11-2010, 10:40 AM
DUG IN LIKE A TICK

Thanked 1,049 Times in 313 Posts

i suggest practicing some of the smaller things right at home, like fire starting and settting up shelter if you are using a tarp or etc. that way you are familiar before you go off into the wilderness. Not sure of what skills you have already so its hard to say.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to shadow61 For This Useful Post:
Old 07-11-2010, 10:59 AM
Earthwalker.

Thanked 10,480 Times in 4,375 Posts
Awards Showcase
Outstanding Post Outstanding Post 
Total Awards: 2

I practice in the local woods,by the river,in my garden,infact anywhere I get the chance.

There's no spacific places that you really need to go to improve your skills,just practice wherever you are,If you find a nice piece of wood to make a spoon say just put it in your pack and take it home,then make said spoon at you leisure.

The same can be said for bow drill making and practice,find the woods you want to use and take them home and practice in the garden.