Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > Firearms and Other Weapons Forum > Primitive Weapons, Bows and Crossbows
Articles Chat Room Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here

Old 04-20-2010, 01:51 PM
Jäger

Default Taking Small Game with an 80 lbs Crossbow?

Advertise Here

Hey,
I am a total beginner shooting Crossbows so now I wanna start with an 80 lbs pistol crossbow. I wanna try Small Game hunting with it and mount a scope.
A have two questions:
1. How is the precision of an average 50 Dollar pistol crossbow on around 25 or 30 yards? Is it enough to hit something like a Crow?
2. Are 80 lbs enough energy to take small game like crows, pigeons and squirrels?

Do you think it's good to hunt crows and other similar game under 30 meters? I wanna use a scope and mount a stock.

Thanks,
Paul
Old 04-20-2010, 04:14 PM
Trapper

For small game like that, if you can hit it with a blade you can kill it. Not enough power to kill with blunts.

Now, as to whether you can actually hit the target? Only you can answer. Barnett crossbows are pretty good, but most pistol-crossbows are built for imaginary uses. costume-play.
The Following User Says Thank You to razadp For This Useful Post:
Old 04-21-2010, 12:16 PM
Jäger

Thanks!
What do you mean with blunts?
Please take a Look at that link.
http://www.4komma5.de/12-Pfeile-fuer...ange-65-165-cm
Of Course this isn't a blade, but it should be pretty sharp. I could also grind them a bit... So do you think this is enough to kill small game?

Thanks,
Paul
Old 04-22-2010, 08:03 AM
Target Shooter