Survivalist Forum banner
35K views 31 replies 25 participants last post by  txrok 
#1 ·
I have a question about storing canned food underground. I live in central Florida and had the idea to bury a deep freezer and seal the lid to keep some of my canned food. What are your thoughts on this. What about the winter is it cold enough to bust the cans? What about condensation? What about the Florida heat? This is my first time posting any ideas will be helpfull.

#2 ·
How cold do your winter's get? A freezer has insulation in it and so does the ground. If you put a layer of 1 or 2 inch ridged insulation on top of that with something to weight it down I would think it would survive a mild winter. If you get a deep freeze where it gets down to below zero F for several nights in a row then you might have problems, but the ground can keep an area insulated from 20 to 50 degrees warmer (or cooler) than it is up top. So do you have a whole lot of below 10 degree F winter nights? If you do you might have to put more insulation around it plus bury it a bit deeper. Ten feet down with something to block the outside air from coming down keeps my unheated roots cellars between 45 and 55 degrees all year long no matter how cold or hot it gets.

#6 ·
Being from Florida (and familiar with the central florida topography) I would also say that freezing below the surface won't be a problem at all, even in most of northern Florida. The biggest problem you will have is moisture and water. Many wells in this area are only dug to about 40 feet-like mine. Thus, if you dig too deep water will be a huge problem. Also, a freezer, being mostly metal, may rust in a little over a year due to the sandy soil and the rainy season.