Communication Complete Newbie- where to start? - Survivalist Forum
Survivalist Forum

Advertise Here

Go Back   Survivalist Forum > > >
Articles Classifieds Donations Gallery Groups Links Store Survival Files

Advertise Here
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to preping and totally lost where/and how to start reaper420 Disaster Preparedness General Discussion 58 10-28-2016 07:57 AM

Old 10-24-2016, 03:59 PM

Default Communication Complete Newbie- where to start?

Advertise Here

Ok, so I am not at all new to prepping. Got my food, water, ammo, etc taken care of to a decent extent. Now for communications. I know nothing. We've got some walkie talkies for camping and such and that's it.
Where do I start? Is there a good beginner book? Communication for dummies?
Old 10-24-2016, 04:46 PM
www.jerrydyoung.com

Thanked 53,309 Times in 7,320 Posts
Awards Showcase
Outstanding Thread 
Total Awards: 1

Basic Comms

There are several legal choices available to the civilian to handle two way communications needs.

FRS: handheld radios only, fixed antenna, 0.5 watt fixed power, no repeaters, no license required (UHF band)

GMRS: handheld, mobile, and base radios, variable power okay, repeaters okay, external antennas okay, license for the family is required (UHF band)

MURS: handheld, mobile, and base radios, up to 2 watts, no repeaters, external antennas okay, no license required (VHF Band)

CB AM: handheld, mobile, and base radios, up to 4 watts, no repeaters, external antennas okay, no license required (Upper end of HF band, near the bottom of Low VHF band)

CB AM/SSB: mobile and base radios, up to 4 watts AM/12watts SSB, no repeaters, external antennas okay, no license required (Upper end of HF band, near the bottom of Low VHF band)