Survivalist Forum banner

Long term food storage.

3K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  JaXXas 
#1 ·
I want to start off by saying I have used the search feature I have been lurking around for a couple weeks. Decided to join because there is tons of great info here.

I am just getting into food storage and have a couple questions, I am going for a variety of different food. I have started with canned vegetables, meats, fruit for short term. But I am looking to get into dehydrated with either jar/mylar/02. My main question is can I use a cheaper dehydrator preferably $30-50 range? I am kind of working on a budget here. I know apples are a good fruit to start out with can anyone give some other options for beginners corn, cucumbers, carrots etc?

Also, what would be the most cost effective way for different sizes. I plan on having larger sizes i.e gallon bags in 5ga buckets. But would it be more cost effective to buy say pint size mylar bags(if they make them) or would a better route for smaller sizes be canning jars?

I am sure I will have more questions in the future, so thank you in advance!

#2 ·
I used a dehydrator I got for about $20 (which would be about $40 in today dollars) for 15 years of dehydrating foods. I have a fancier dehydrator now and it gives me more options. The end product is the same, however - dehydrated food. :) The key to dehydrating food for long term storage is it MUST be dehydrated to a "snap." That means when you bend it in half it snaps not folds. With foods that are too small to test that way, a piece should shatter when smacked with a small hammer or the flat side of a meat mallet.

Any less dehydrated than that and the amount of moisture in the food will allow it to spoil.