Survivalist Forum banner

What stops a chain saw?

7K views 60 replies 39 participants last post by  swamppapa 
#1 ·
Wondering what is the smallest size wire that will stop a chainsaw. Something that could be nailed up on a door or a wall.

#2 ·
Look at the chaps its Kevlar fibers in layers
They gum up the chain and drive sprocket fast enough to save a leg (ask me I know)
A standard chain will chew through a cable given enough time and tension on the cable.
I SUSPECT that the insulation in the walls will eventually clog the drive gear.
Remember the saws and chains used by the FD and probably LE are designed to cut through a house wires, pipes, nails and all.

#3 ·
Years ago I was a part time firefighter. We had special chains and drive gears on the chainsaws so they didn't clog and bog down when cutting into houses. Wire, plumbing, insulation etc it went through it all and fast. The saws were all over 65cc. The nice thing is that if you're prepping against a chainsaw breech, those parts are special order and most saw shops don't even know they can get them and unless a person is a pro tree guy or logger, most people have smaller saws. You could add kapok life jackets to your wall and roof insulation and keep most chainsaws out.

#7 ·
I just completed clearing the site for my new house.
The area had been covered by trees and I had to remove many tree stumps.
One tree stump was too large to simply pull with the backhoe and I mistakenly tried to cut it with my chainsaw.
But as the tree grew, the roots had intertwined with many rocks.
Trust me on this, a nasty hardwood root ball containing soil, clay, and rocks will stop any chainsaw.

#15 ·
Ethanol.:D:
Hilarious mostly because it is true.

I use a chainsaw enough to know they are easily stopped or clogged.

Simple wire or heavy rope would stop most chainsaws.

Metal of any sort, rock, concrete will also stop the saw or damage the teeth enough to make the saw generally ineffective.