Survivalist Forum banner

Can I store flour in a mylar bag inside a bucket?

62K views 37 replies 28 participants last post by  IamZeke 
#1 ·
Maybe that's a dumb question :upsidedown: but I asked an ebay seller a question about the size of their mylar bags (to use for flour) and he replied back that you should never store flour (white) in a mylar bag.

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

I thought you *could* use a mylar bag (w/ O2 absorber). Am I wrong??:confused: This is my first time using the mylar bags and I don't want to mess it up. (And I know that wheat berries are better, but I'm starting w/ what I know for right now).

#4 ·
Yes, you can--though it's not optimal.

Flour doesn't have a particularly long shelf life. If you're looking for a long shelf life, store wheat berries and grind whole wheat flour as you need it.

You can, if you store wheat berries in Mylar w/ O2 absorbers, and you store it in a cool place, expect to get 30 years or more out of them.

Flour? Not so much. If you are planning on storing flour, plan also to use it and rotate it.

Or, if you're expecting the S to HTF any time soon, then you might well get the necessary shelf life from flour.

#5 ·
Think about it... white flour is kept in a paper bag under normal conditions. It is not THAT fragile or it wouldn't be stocked that way. Pasta is flour that has been mixed with water, and sometimes salt, then compressed. It is then shaped and dried back out.

Dry white flour dry, will store fine for at least 10 years if NOT stored in the heat. The trick is to "pat it down tight" and get as much air out of it as you can. Use 2000cc o2abs too.

Whole wheat berries last thousands of years because the hull protects the inside, especially the wheat germ, from air, moisture, and light. You are simply doing the same thing, but without having to protect the germ which has been removed.

You do want to be sure to start with fresh flour.