Survivalist Forum banner
39K views 46 replies 31 participants last post by  BlackhawkFan 
#1 ·
I've been looking at my battery as I'm just getting into the whole preparedness thing. I love my marlin, I can fit my reloading kit for it in a back pack (lee loader) and I have a nice collection of brass and other components for this caliber. Buying another rifle is not really an option for me in the not so distant future.

My question is, is this a good rifle to have in a shtf situation? For the record I do have a couple 12 gauges and a 9mm Tokarev in my battery as well.

#2 ·
Its a great rifle and I sure wouldnt want to be shot with it.

You probably know how to shoot it well, thats all that matters.

The best rifle is the one you know how to use. You can have 50 AR 15's and 100 glocks, but if you dont know how to shoot you may as well have a stick.

The only downside to that caliber is the ammo is kind of hard to come by. If you stock plenty of components I think it would be perfect though.

#3 ·
Since buying another rifle is not an option, it is pretty much a moot point. You have to use what you have at the time you need it. My guide gun is at the top of my fav list for a sporting rifle, but no so much for social problems, where I think the SG would be better. My two biggest issues with the lever gun are the short magazine and slow loading (for me anyway). I find it much faster to stoke up a pump gun than to load the 1895 due to the spring and smallish loading gate….but I still like it!!
YMMV

#5 ·
Seeing as you have t, I reckon it'd make a great SHTF rifle.

A lever action has as fast a rate of fire as you can cycle it and the 45-70 has a LOT of punch, plus you can laod for it and with a mold, cast your own boolits.
Downside, load times but hey those rounds you've just let off should be used getting to cover anyway.

#9 ·